the UC History Digital Archives
the UC History Digital Archives

Home > General History > The Ten Campuses

This is a static website, it is no longer being updated

:: Berkeley
:: Davis
:: Irvine
:: Los Angeles
:: Merced
:: Riverside
:: San Diego
:: San Francisco
:: Santa Barbara
:: Santa Cruz

The University of California was chartered in 1868 as the state’s only land-grant institution. What began as a single campus first in Oakland, then moving to Berkeley, emerged in the 20th Century as the nation’s first multi-campus university. Here you will find brief histories of each campus (including information on the planning of UC Merced), along with histories of academic departments, listing of administrators, information on the physical development of each campus, and links to related website developed on each campus.

The UC Digital Archives provides a general resource on the history of these campuses, and a platform for accessing related materials in our growing core archive. As in other segments of this project, we are in the initial stages of developing materials, and updating information such as departmental histories. Further, the concept of the project is to complement other efforts to chronicle and analyze the history of individual campuses.

the UC History Digital Archives

Copyright © 1999-2005
The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Last updated 05/28/04.