UC Berkeley Library

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Using the Library during COVID-19

During the pandemic, many of our services are being offered in new ways. To find the latest information on course reserves, book returns, 24/7 online help, and more, visit our COVID-19 portal, which provides more up-to-date information than the text below.

Sciences Council

Content section: 

The Sciences Council is one of three subject councils within the Library. For more information on the structure of library councils, see the Library Organization Chart.

Each subject council will have representatives from every library unit that manages collections relevant to the subject of the council. More than one staff member of a library unit may attend a specific subject council. Each subject council may add additional members to its group, either temporarily or permanently, if unique expertise is needed. Members of subject councils may be either library assistants or librarians. It is envisioned that the subject councils will have more members than the function councils.

Elliott Smith, Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

AUL Liaison:
Beth Dupuis, Senior Associate University Librarian for Educational Initiatives, User Services, and Strategic Projects and Director of Doe, Moffitt and the Subject Specialty Libraries

Jennifer Dorner, History of Science and Technology Selector
Christina Fidler, Museum of Vertebrate Zoology
Kristen Greenland, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering Library
Peter Hanff, The Bancroft Library
Debbie Jan, Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library and Optometry Library
Shannon Kealey, Head, Life & Health Sciences Division (Collection Development Leadership Group)
Kendra Levine, Transportation Studies Library
Becky Miller, Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library (Collection Services Council)
Heiko Muhr, Earth Sciences and Map Library (Cataloging & Metadata Council)
Lisa Ngo, Engineering Library (Web Advisory Group)
Susan Powell, Earth Sciences and Map Library (Public Services Council)
Brian Quigley, Engineering and Physical Sciences Division (Collections Development Leadership Group)
Anna Sackmann, Engineering Library
Michael Sholinbeck, Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library
Samantha Teplitzky, Physics-Astronomy Library (Collection Services Council)

Past Chairs
Lisa Ngo and Samantha Teplitzky, 2016-2018
Debbie Jan, 2014-2016
Susan Koskinen, 2012-2014
Mary Ann Mahoney, 2011-2012
Norma Kobzina, 2009-2011
Brian Quigley, 2007-2009
Jean McKenzie, 2005-2007
Bette Anton, 2003-2005
Nick Robinson, 2001-2003
Ann Jensen, 1999-2001

Meeting schedule:
9am - 10:30am, 1st Thursday of the month and 3rd Thursday if needed, Bioscience, Natural Resources and Public Health Library Conference Room

E-mail list:

Questions? Ask Us!