UCOP > A Brief History of the University of California > The University in a Knowledge Society >

A New President and an Economic Crisis

The Debate over Admissions


Research and Economic Growth

New Directions for Outreach

Tidal Wave II and New Approaches to Admission

Achievement versus Aptitude


The University Past and Present

University of California Campuses

Presidents of the University of California

Chief Campus Officers and Chancellors of the University of California


Chapter 43: Chief Campus Officers/Chancellors of the University of California

Founded: 1868

Chancellor Clark Kerr, 1952-58
Chancellor Glenn T. Seaborg, 1958-61
Chancellor Edward W. Strong, 1961-65
Acting Chancellor Martin Meyerson, 1965
Chancellor Roger W. Heyns, 1965-71
Chancellor Albert H. Bowker, 1971-80
Chancellor Ira Michael Heyman, 1980-90
Chancellor Chang-Lin Tien, 1990-97
Chancellor Robert M. Berdahl, 1997-2004

Founded: 1905 as the University Farm to provide training in agriculture; became a general campus in 1959; until 1952 was administered by the Dean of Agriculture at Berkeley

Chancellor Stanley B. Freeborn,
Provost 1952-58, Chancellor 1958-59
Chancellor Emil M. Mrak, 1959-69
Chancellor James H. Meyer, 1969-87
Chancellor Theodore L. Hullar, 1987-94
Chancellor Larry N. Vanderhoef, 1994-

Founded: 1965

Chancellor Daniel G. Aldrich Jr., 1962-84
Chancellor Jack W. Peltason, 1984-92
Acting Chancellor L. Dennis Smith, 1992-93
Chancellor Laurel L. Wilkening, 1993-98
Chancellor Ralph J. Cicerone, 1998-

Los Angeles
Founded: 1919, when the Los Angeles State Normal School, founded in 1881, became part of the University of California

Vice President and Provost Ernest Carroll Moore,
Director 1919-30, Vice President and Director 1930-31,
Vice President and Provost, 1931-36
Vice President and Provost Earle R. Hedrick, 1937-42
Provost Clarence A. Dykstra, 1945-50
Chancellor Raymond B. Allen, 1952-59
Chancellor Vern O. Knudsen, 1959-60
Chancellor Franklin D. Murphy, 1960-68
Chancellor Charles E. Young, 1968-97
Chancellor Albert Carnesale, 1997-

Founded: 1995

Chancellor Carol Tomlinson-Keasey, 1999-

Founded: 1907 as Citrus Experiment Station; became a campus in 1954

Provost Gordon Watkins, 1949-56
Chancellor Herman Spieth,
Provost 1956-58, Chancellor 1958-64
Chancellor Ivan Hinderaker, 1964-79
Chancellor Tomás Rivera, 1979-84
Acting Chancellor Daniel G. Aldrich Jr., 1984-85
Chancellor Theodore L. Hullar, 1985-87
Chancellor Rosemary S. J. Schraer, 1987-92
Chancellor Raymond L. Orbach, 1992-2002
Chancellor France A. Córdova, 2002-

San Diego
Founded: 1912 as marine station (later known as Scripps Institution of Oceanography); became a general campus in 1959

Chancellor Herbert F. York, 1961-65
Chancellor John S. Galbraith, 1965-68
Chancellor William J. McGill, 1968-70
Acting Chancellor Herbert F. York, 1970-71
Chancellor William D. McElroy, 1971-80
Chancellor Richard C. Atkinson, 1980-95
Acting Chancellor Marjorie Caserio, 1995-96
Chancellor Robert C. Dynes, 1996-2003
Acting Chancellor Marsha Chandler, 2003-

San Francisco
Founded: 1864 as a private medical college; in 1873, became part of the University of California; prior to 1954, deans of various schools reported to the President of the University; beginning in 1954 an administrative advisory committee was formed, headed by the dean of medicine (1954-58)

Chancellor John B. de C. M. Saunders,
Provost 1958-64, Chancellor 1964-66
Chancellor Willard C. Fleming, 1966-69
Chancellor Philip R. Lee, 1969-72
Chancellor Francis A. Sooy, 1972-82
Chancellor Julius R. Krevans, 1983-93
Chancellor Joseph B. Martin, 1993-97
Chancellor Haile Debas, 1997-98
Chancellor J. Michael Bishop, 1998-

Santa Barbara
Founded: 1909 as a State Normal School (predecessor institution founded in 1901 as the Anna S. C. Blake Manual Training School); in 1920, was renamed the Santa Barbara State Teachers College; in 1944, became Santa Barbara College of the University of California; became a general campus in 1958

Provost Clarence L. Phelps, 1944-46
Provost J. Harold Williams, 1946-55
Provost Clark G. Kuebler, 1955
Acting Provost John C. Snidecor, 1956
Acting Provost Elmer R. Noble, 1956-59
Chancellor Samuel B. Gould, 1959-62
Chancellor Vernon I. Cheadle, 1962-77
Acting Chancellor Alec Alexander, 1977
Chancellor Robert A. Huttenback, 1977-86
Acting Chancellor Daniel G. Aldrich Jr., 1986-87
Chancellor Barbara S. Uehling, 1987-94
Chancellor Henry T. Yang, 1994-

Santa Cruz
Founded: 1965

Chancellor Dean E. McHenry, 1961-74
Chancellor Mark N. Christensen, 1974-76
Acting Chancellor Angus E. Taylor, 1976-77
Chancellor Robert L. Sinsheimer, 1977-87
Chancellor Robert Stevens, 1987-91
Chancellor Karl S. Pister, 1991-96
Chancellor M. R. C. Greenwood, 1996-2004
Acting Chancellor Martin M. Chemers, 2004-





Copyright © 2005
The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Last updated 03/18/06.