the UC History Digital Archives
the UC History Digital Archives

Home > General History > Overview and Timelines > Chronological Timeline


1980 UC Berkeley professor Czeslaw Milosz received the Nobel Prize in Literature, becoming UC's first Nobel Laureate and a non-science field.
  Ira Michael Heyman named chancellor at Berkeley.
  Richard C. Atkinson named chancellor at San Diego.
1981 MELVYL™ comes on line with links to computer terminals throughout UC's libraries. The system enables users to determine by computer what books are held by any UC library.
1983 The Regents name David P. Gardner to be UC's 15th president.
  UC receives the first of annual allocations from the State to fight AIDS and sets up a task force to allocate funds to researchers trying to learn more about cause and treatment of the deadly syndrome.
  The third Monday in January, beginning in 1984, is designated as a University holiday in honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
  UC Berkeley professor Gerard Debreu received the Nobel Prize in Economics.
  Julius R. Krevans named chancellor at San Francisco.
1984 The President's Fellowship Program is established. It is believed that this is the largest program of its kind sponsored by a major university. The program offers more than $1 million in postdoctoral fellowships for minority and women scholars.
  Jack W. Peltason named chancellor at Irvine
1985 Review of the California Master Plan for Higher Education undertaken.
  In response to unprecedented enrollment, the University adopts a new multiple filing system allowing students to use a single application form to apply to as many UC campuses as they want.
  Theodore L. Hullar named chancellor at Riverside.
1986 President Gardner supports the establishment of the Graduate School of International Relations and Pacific Studies at UC San Diego, the first of its kind to concentrate on the importance of the Pacific Rim.
  UC Regents take a final vote on the issue of UC investments in companies with business ties to South Africa, with regard to apartheid; at this time, the Board adopts a policy of phased full divestment.
  UC opens a regional office in Fresno to ensure that Central Valley students have ready access to information about UC campuses.
  Smelser Report on Lower Division Education is issued.
  UC Berkeley professor Yuan T. Lee received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.
1987 Regents approve the historic appointments of four new chancellors all at once, two of them--Rosemary S. J. Schraer, at UC Riverside, and Barbara Uehling, at UC Santa Barbara, are UC's first women chancellors.
  President Gardner shepherds an initiative to enhance research and teaching in the humanities, featuring the establishment of a Universitywide Humanities Research Institute at UC Irvine.
  UCLA professor Donald J. Cram received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry
  Rosemary S.J. Scraer named chancellor at Riverside.
  Theodore L. Hullar named chancellor at Davis.
  Barbara S. Uehling named chancellor at Santa Barbara.
  Robert Stevens named chancellor at Santa Cruz.
1988 UC launches planning for up to three new campuses to meet the state's growing college enrollment demands.
  Groundbreaking ceremony held for Keck Observatory to house the world's largest telescope.
1989 UC awards its one-millionth degree.
  UC is named a host institute for the Tanner Lectures on Human Values, joining institutions such as Cambridge, Oxford and Harvard.
  UC begins a phased move of Office of the President employees from Berkeley to the Kaiser Center in Oakland.
  UC San Francisco professors J. Michael Bishop and Harold Varmus received the Nobel Prize in Medicine.




the UC History Digital Archives

Copyright © 1999-2005
The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Last updated 05/28/04.