the UC History Digital Archives
the UC History Digital Archives

Home > General History > Overview and Timelines > Chronological Timeline


1870 Henry Durant elected first President of the University, August 16.
1872 Daniel Coit Gilman accepted the Presidency following Durant's resignation.
1873 Medical School founded as a result of gift by Dr. H. H. Toland.
  California Pharmaceutical Society affiliated with the University.
  First Commencement held at Berkeley.
1874 Lick Observatory established by gift from James Lick; accepted by the Regents as the Lick Astronomical Department of the University in 1888.
1875 John LeConte became President of the University upon Gilman's resignation.
1878 Hastings College of the Law in San Francisco opened, August 9.


the UC History Digital Archives

Copyright © 1999-2005
The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Last updated 05/28/04.