2012 Distinguished Librarian Awards Recipients

The LAUC-B Distinguished Librarian Award Committee is pleased to announce that the recipients of the 2012 awards are Lillian Castillo-Speed and Marci Hoffman. To celebrate the achievements of our Distinguished Librarians we invite all library staff to join Chancellor Birgeneau, University Librarian Tom Leonard and the Librarians’ Association at a reception on Wednesday, November 28, 2012 in the Morrison Library, 4:00-6:00pm. Each of our Distinguished Librarians has accumulated a body of achievements that have advanced the research mission of the University; created impact on their colleagues and library constituents and forged national and international reputations.
Lillian Castillo-Speed Lillian Castillo-Speed is the Head Librarian of the Ethnic Studies Library at UC Berkeley.  It was under Lily’s creative leadership that the Ethnic Studies Library developed from three collections. Her stewardship of the ES Library and its influence extends beyond the campus and the UC System.  Lily created The Chicano Database, which she continues to edit it is, – as a colleague noted – “one of the most important bibliographic tools in the area of Chicano Studies. She took it from print, to CD, to RLIN, to OCLC and finally to EBSCO.”  Lily created a welcoming community when she opened the library to campus wide discussions on important topics such as the series – “My Home Campus Speaker Series; Facing the Fear of Hate Incidents on Campus.” Lily is a leader in national organizations that focus on Latino librarianship and received the Librarian of the Year Award for her work with REFORMA. “She is considered a national treasure by her colleagues.” Lily served as Chair of the Executive Committee of the Berkeley Division of LAUC; as Secretary to the Executive Committee of LAUC statewide and on numerous committees and task groups.  Her impact on the library profession and LAUC is without measure. She is a model for the profession.

Marci Hoffman Marci Hoffman’s brilliant career as the Associate Director of the Law Library, International, Foreign and Comparative Law Librarian and a Lecturer in Residence at Berkeley Law is acknowledged by her colleagues and legal scholars on the UC Berkeley campus and nationwide. As a colleague noted, “Painting a complete picture of Marci’s accomplishments is no easy task.” It was observed, “In addition to her storied mastery of the printed and historical literature of international law, Marci brings to her teaching, advising on research and consultations with faculty research projects an invaluable mastery of digital trends…” She has pushed law librarianship to a rare level; at UC Berkeley, in the UC system, nationally and internationally. She is an excellent researcher, teacher and scholar. It wasn’t enough to teach the course on law research; she co-wrote the textbook, “International Law in a Nutshell".

The members of the Award Committee are Bette Anton, Optometry Library and Past DLA Award Recipient; Myrtis Cochran, Research and Collections for Humanities and Social Sciences, Reference Librarian, Doe/Moffitt Libraries; John Shepard, Music Library; Dmitry Budker, Miller Research Professor of Physics. Susan Koskinen, Chair, Distinguished Librarian Award Committee, LAUC-B.