the UC History Digital Archives

the UC History Digital Archives

Search the Riverside collection
Home > General History > The Ten Campuses > Riverside > Student Government

About UC Riverside
:: Historical Overview
:: Administrative Officers

Academic Units
:: Colleges and Schools
:: Academic Departments
:: Graduate Division
:: Institutes and Research Centers
:: Summer Sessions

Student Life
:: Student Housing
:: Student Government
:: Student Publications
:: Student Services
:: Traditions

Libraries and the Arts
:: Cultural Programs
:: Libraries

Additional Resources
:: Related Links
:: Bibliography

:: Sources

Riverside: Student Government

The first move toward student government at Riverside began with an organized meeting of the entire student body of 127 members on February 16, 1954. A provisional charter containing minimum articles for government was presented to the student body and adopted at that time. The original Executive Council as both the legislative and executive branch of student government and consisted of four elected officers, the president, vice-president, secretary and treasurer; and two representatives from the freshman, sophomore and junior classes. As of the mid-1960's, the Executive Council had not undergone any major reorganization since its inception, expanding only to meet the needs of a growing student body. Over the years functional and representative members were added to the council.

The council directed a balanced program of social, recreational, cultural and educational activities which were made to available to the entire student body. It subsidized five student publications and in 1965 was involved in establishing KUCR, a campus FM radio station. The council played a major role in supporting the growth of social, service, academic and special interest clubs. It recognized these groups as a part of the student government, and when appropriate and necessary, subsidized program to help them begin and to maintain themselves as an active part of University life.

Student Body Presidents

Charles E. Young 1954
David A. Swing 1955
Roy A. Smith 1956
Dennis C. Weeks 1957
Roger W. Davis 1958
Richard C. Schoonover 1959
Kurt Pickus 1960
Fred M. Hayward 1961
Daniel Buerger 1962
Barry H. Leichtling 1963
Robert L. Holcomb 1964
Richard C. Parke March-June 1965
Michael W. Devirian 1965


to top

the UC History Digital Archives

Copyright © 1999-2005
The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Last updated 06/18/04.