Standards at UC Berkeley
- Indexes and Purchasing Services
- Industry Standards
- International Standards
- Military Standards
- Building Codes
- Standards Developing Organization (SDOs)
Copies of standards can be difficult to locate. The Engineering Library owns some in print and online and these are listed in the OskiCat catalog. Selected major sets are listed below, with their call numbers and locations.
If you do not find the standard you need, please contact us for assistance in person at the Engineering Library's Reference desk or via e-mail.
Indexes and Purchasing Services
You can use these sites to search for applicable standards by subject, or to locate more information about a known standard (such as the standard number or full title). You can also use these sites to purchase standards. If you are a UCB faculty member, staff, or student, contact us for assistance before purchasing a standard.
- NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards (a Product of ANSI)
- The Document Center
- Global Engineering Documents
This is a selective list. To find additional standards, please search in the OskiCat catalog.
American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO). AASHTO specifications.
Selected titles available in Transportation Library - search OskiCat - and EERC Library - search NISEE.
American Concrete Institute (ACI). ACI manual of concrete practice.
TA680.A27 Engineering Library - latest edition in Reference
American Institute of Steel Construction.
Manual of steel construction: allowable stress design, 9th ed. rev., 1991.
TA684.A6 1991 Environmental Design Library - Reference
Steel construction manual, 13th ed., 2005.
TA684.A47 2005 Engineering Library - Reserves
Manual of steel construction: load and resistance factor design, 2001.
TA684 .L558 2001 Engineering Library - Reserves
American National Standards Institute (ANSI). ANSI standards.
Selected titles available in various libraries - search OskiCat.
American Petroleum Institute (API).
API recommended practices (Incomplete).
API specifications (Incomplete).
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). Annual book of ASTM standards. Current and Redline.
Online via ASTM Standards Online. UCB access only.
American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE). ASAE standards.
Titles available online via ASAE Technical Library. UCB access only.
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE). ASCE standards.
Most titles available in Engineering Library - search OskiCat.
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE). ASHRAE standards. Current as of 1999.
TH7005.A8 Engineering Library - Reference
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).
2007 ASME boiler and pressure vessel code
TJ289.A63 2007 Engineering Library - Reference
- 2004 ASME boiler and pressure vessel code, Section II - Materials. UCB access only.
American Society of Testing Materials (ASTM).
ASTM Digital Library UCB access only.
Access to full text of all ASTM International publications including books, symposia papers, technical publications, and journals. Also includes access to the ASTM Standards collection (active standards only).
American Water Works Association (AWWA). Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater, 21st ed., 2005.
QD142.A6 2005 Engineering Library - Reserve
Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute. Manual of standard practice, 2009.
TA683.42.C64 v.28 Engineering Library
European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI). ETSI standards.
Titles available online via the ETSI Publications Download Area.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). IEEE standards.
Titles available online via IEEE Xplore. UCB access only.
Internet Society (ISOC). Internet standards.
Titles available online via RFC-Editor.
National Association of Corrosion Engineers (NACE). NACE International book of standards, 2000.
TA462.N37 2000 Engineering Library - Reference
National Information Standards Organization (NISO).
Selected titles available online via techstreet.
Selected titles available in Doe Library - search OskiCat.
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). SAE Handbook (includes ground vehicle standards). 2005.
TL151.S6 2005 Engineering Library - Reference
International Atomic Energy Agency.
Recent titles available full-text online via IAEA Publications.
International Organization for Standardization (ISO). International standards.
Selected titles available in various libraries - search OskiCat.
RILEM technical recommendations for the testing and use of construction materials, 1994.
TA405.I59 1994 Engineering Library - Reference
U.S. Department of Defense. Military standards and specifications.
Titles available online via ASSIST.
The UC Berkeley libraries own many more codes than are listed below. Be sure to search the OskiCat catalog if you do not find the one you need in this list.
California building codes:
California building code, 2007
KFC813.A42 2007 Environmental Design Library - Reserve
California electrical code, 2007
KFC813.A2.C35 2007 Environmental Design Library - Reference
California energy code, 2007
KFC424.A3592 2007 Environmental Design Library - Reserve
California fire code, 2007
KFC644.A33 2007 Environmental Design Library - Reserve
California mechanical code, 2007
KFC424.A195 2007 Environmental Design Library - Reserve
California plumbing code, 2007
KFC816.A4 2007 Environmental Design Library - Reference
National building codes:
National electrical code, 2011
KF5704.N38 2011 Engineering Library - Reference
National electrical code handbook, 12th ed., 2011
KF5704.A3 2011 Engineering Library - Reference
Uniform building code, 1997
TH223.P3 1997 Environmental Design Library - Reference
Note: Superseded by International building code.
International building codes:
International building code, 2012
TH228.I58 2012 Engineering Library - Reference
International energy conservation code, 2012
KF5701.A15.I58 2012 Environmental Design Library - Reference
International fire code, 2012
KF3975.I58 2012 Environmental Design Library - Reference
International mechanical code, 2012
KF5708.I55 2012 Environmental Design Library - Reference
International plumbing code, 2009
K3542.I58 2009 Environmental Design Library - Reference
Standards Developing Organizations (SDOs)
Many individual SDOs have a searchable database of their standards and provide ordering services directly or refer you to their sales distributor. These are comprehensive gateway sites:
ANSI offers links to United States SDOs, National Standards Bodies, International and Regional Bodies as well as other topics.
WSSN "provides information on international, regional and national standardization and related activities and services." The FAQ is especially good on the definition and development process of standards.
Page owner: Lisa Ngo