UC Berkeley Library

Need help finding an Elsevier journal article? Start here.

The Bancroft Library Meylan Study Award

Content section: 

Fellowship offered for academic year 2020-2021.  Application deadline is the first Monday in February by 5 p.m.

Eligibility for Awards

The Edward F. and Marianne E. Meylan Fellowship Fund provides one year-long fellowship to graduate students from any recognized institution of higher education in the United States or abroad who are conducting research that would benefit from the use of source materials in The Bancroft Library.  This fellowship is not offered every year. 

The holders of the fellowships, designated as Bancroft Fellows, will conduct their research in The Bancroft Library during the fellowship and must therefore be registered during the academic year at Berkeley or their home campus under the inter-campus exchange program.

Students must be beyond the first year of graduate study; in the past, awards have generally gone to students who have passed their qualifying examinations, have exhausted other forms of support, and are engaged in dissertation research.

The applicant's statement of purpose must describe how the research project will make use of The Bancroft Library's collections.

How to apply

Completed applications must include: statement of purpose, 1000 words or less; official transcripts of all undergraduate and graduate coursework; two letters of recommendation from instructors, and, for summer fellowships, the estimated length of time that the applicant would be in residence. The selection committee will balance all of these factors in determining the recipients of the full year fellowships as well as the summer fellowships.

All awards are made by The Bancroft Library Fellowship Committee. All applications and awards will be made within the framework of existing fellowship programs. The applicant will conduct the research project within one year of notification.

For complete instructions on how to apply for a Bancroft Library Study Award, please see the Fellowships and Awards page.

Past Bancroft Library Study Award Winners