Primary Sources
What are primary sources?
General search strategies
Search strategies by type of resource
Search strategies by known information
Using library catalogs
Using article databases
Special collections
Finding background information
What are secondary sources?
What are Primary Sources?
Primary sources were either created during the time period being studied,
or were created at a later date by a participant in the events being studied
(as in the case of memoirs) and they reflect the individual viewpoint
of a participant or observer. Primary sources enable the researcher to get as close as possible to
what actually happened during an historical event or time period.
General Search Strategies
To find most library materials except articles, use a library
catalog. Catalogs include books, government documents, maps,
videotapes, sound recordings, music scores and many other types of materials.
Catalogs also list collections of manuscripts, correspondence, photographs,
and records of organizations, but they do not list individual items in
those collections.
Primary sources may be in their original format or may have been reproduced
at a later date in a different format, such as a book, microfilm collection,
video, or on the Internet. All of these formats including some Internet sources
can be found by searching library catalogs.
For important advice on finding and evaluating primary sources on the
Internet, see Using
Primary Sources on the Web.
To find magazine, journal or newspaper articles: use an article
database or index.
Top
Before you start searching it may be useful to find some background
information on your topic.
| TYPE
OF PRIMARY SOURCE |
SEARCH
STRATEGY |
| Books from the time period you're writing
about |
|
| Memoirs, letters, interviews, autobiographies,
diaries |
- if you have the name of an individual, search the library
catalogs for that name under personal author (last
name, first name)
- if you do not have the name of an individual, search the library
catalogs by topic and add the
appropriate subheading to the subject heading:
- correspondence
- diaries
- interviews
- personal narratives
(ex: subject keywords: japanese americans interviews)
- ask for assistance at a Library reference desk in locating bibliographies and
other reference tools that may help you find other titles
|
| Magazine or journal article from the time period you're writing
about |
|
| Newspaper article from the time period you're writing
about - for a specific event or date |
|
| Specific newspaper or periodical title
(example: Chicago Defender) |
|
| Newspaper titles by city
or by subject |
- search Pathfinder (full feature search) by Geographical Access keyword (example:
geographical access keyword: boston)
- search library catalogs using
subject headings and add the subheading -newspapers (ex: subject
keywords african americans los angeles newspapers)
|
| Records of or materials published by an
organization |
|
| Records of government agencies |
|
| Manuscript collections |
- search library catalogs by names of personal author (last name, first name) or corporate
author; limit if necessary to format: manuscripts*
- search library catalogs by topic;
limit if necessary to format: manuscripts*
*note: Pathfinder does not retrieve most recently acquired collections;
if necessary try the search again without limiting to format manuscript |
| Speeches |
|
| Photographs |
|
| Audio recordings |
- search library catalogs by subject,
title, or author and limit to format: sound recordings
|
| Video recordings |
|
| Public opinion polls |
Consult the public opinion section of the UCB Library Political Science
collections web page. |
| Fiction from a particular time period |
Consult one of the following printed indexes:
- Fiction Catalog
- Short Story Index
- Play Index
- Bestseller Index
|
| Movies from a particular time period |
Consult one of the following:
|
Top
| INFORMATION YOU ALREADY HAVE |
SEARCH STRATEGY |
| name of an individual |
|
| name of an organization |
|
| topic |
- search the library catalogs for this topic by title keywords; click on the title of
a relevant item to find official subject headings; then search
the catalogs for this term using a subject keyword search
- search the library catalogs by subject
keyword using official subject headings and subheadings that indicate primary sources
- search article databases/indexes for
this topic by title keywords; click on the title of a relevant
item to find official subject headings/descriptors; then search
the article database/index for this term using a subject keyword search
|
| dates |
- search the library catalogs using
any of the techniques listed above; limit by date of publication to find materials published during the time period you are writing
about
- in Pathfinder: sort your results by date ascending (earliest to
most recent) or date descending (most recent to earliest)
- search the article databases/indexes using any of the techniques listed above; limit by date of
publication to find materials published during the time period
you are writing about
|
| a specific title |
- title of a book, manuscript, diary, etc.:
search Pathfinder by title phrase or MELVYL by exact title
- title of a journal/magazine/newpaper: search Pathfinder by title phrase (limit by format: journal title if necessary);
search MELVYL by journal title or exact journal title
- title of an article: search library catalogs by the name of the journal/ magazine/ newspaper in which
the article appeared (as above).
- if you do not know the name of the journal/magazine/newspaper
in which the article appeared, search for the title, subject,
or author of the article in an article database/index. Find the complete citation (title of journal, date, volume, etc.);
then search the library catalogs for the
title of the journal.
|
Finding most library materials-
use library catalogs
To search library catalogs for materials on a particular topic, learn
to use Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), the standardized terms
used by most libraries. To determine the appropriate subject headings
for your topics, you may:
- Ask at a library reference desk for assistance
- Look for the five red volumes of the Library of Congress Subject
Headings, located near most library reference desks
- Search a library catalog by title keyword, display the long form of
the record for an appropriate item, and then do a subject keyword search
using the subject headings that are listed
You may also pair an appropriate heading with
specific subheadings that identify materials as primary sources. Some
of these subheadings are:
- correspondence
- diaries
- early works to 1800
- interviews
- pamphlets
- periodicals
- personal narratives
- sources
Examples:
- vietnamese conflict 1961-1975 personal narratives
- student movements japan history sources
- france revolution correspondence
Note: these subheadings will not retrieve all possible primary sources
but they are a good way to start.
Pathfinder is the
catalog for most UC Berkeley libraries. You may search by title keywords,
official subject headings, names of authors, organizations as authors,
and more. You may also limit your searches by date of publication, format
(videos, manuscripts, etc.), language, and library location. Search results
may be saved to a list and e-mailed to your e-mail account. See search
strategies above for more details.
MELVYL is the catalog for the nine UC campuses. Again, you may search by
title keywords, official subject headings, names of authors, organizations
as authors, and more. You may also limit your searches by date of publication,
format (videos, manuscripts, etc.), language, and campus. Search results
may be saved to a list and e-mailed to your e-mail account. See search
strategies above for more details.
Top
To find articles - use an article
database or index
To find magazine, journal or newspaper articles: use an article
database or index. An index lists articles by topic. Some indexes
come in the form of printed volumes; when they are online they are often
known as article databases. Some (not all) article databases link to the
full text of articles.
To find article databases, start with the Library
home page; under the Find Information tab, click on Articles to find
lists of databases by subject, title, and type.
Look carefully at the description of each database. Note what years of
publication are included, what types of materials are included, and whether
the database covers a particular academic discipline (such as History)
or whether it is interdisciplinary.
Start with a keyword search, using a few key terms. Enter phrases (example:
spanish-american war), or two or more key terms connected by "and"
(example: disabled and berkeley). Look at the full version of relevant
records to find official subject terms (also known as descriptors) to
use in a subject search. Ask for assistance at a library reference desk.
Once you have used an index to find a relevant citation, you need to
find the text of the item. Some online indexes include links to full text.
In some online indexes you may click on the button to perform a MELVYL search to determine where the journal title (magazine or newspaper) is
located on campus. If neither full text nor UC e-links is available, search
a library catalog such as Pathfinder to determine whether the periodical or newspaper title is available at UC Berkeley.
Selected list of periodical indexes that may list primary sources (search Pathfinder for the library
locations of printed indexes):
Newspaper indexes:
Periodical indexes:
See the Library web site for a list of other article
databases by subject.
There is also a guide in the Periodicals/Newspapers/Microforms
Room listing newspapers by year, so that once you have the date for
a newsworthy event, you can go to virtually any paper likely to cover
the story.
Top
Use manuscript and other special collections
on campus
Campus collections of manuscripts, original diaries and letters and other
archival materials include The
Bancroft Library, among others. Before you go to any special collection
on campus, search Pathfinder or MELVYL using the search strategies listed above. Look
to see if the collection has a finding aid; some finding aids list the
contents of collections, box by box, folder by folder; others are less
detailed. Many Bancroft
finding aids are online via the Online
Archive of California.
Top
Finding Background Information
Reference works and secondary sources can help you find background information
on your topic, including names, dates and other information you can use
to search library catalogs and article
databases/indexes.
What Are Secondary Sources?
A secondary source is a work that interprets or analyzes an historical
event or phenomenon. It is generally at least one step removed from the
event. Examples include scholarly or popular books and articles, reference
books, and textbooks.
To find secondary sources in book form, search the library
catalogs. To find articles that are secondary sources, search an article
database/index such as Historical
Abstracts or America:
History and Life. Ask for assistance at a library reference desk.
Ask for assistance at any time with research, with locating library materials, or with any
aspect of using the library.
Top
Copyright © 2007 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Last updated 10/12/07. Server manager: contact
|