Menu: By Subject
About the [Subject] collection (link) Research tools for [Subject] (link) Homepage for [Subject] (link) Find Information (link) About the Libraries (link) Help (link) Services (link) Library Catalogs (link) Home (link)

Library Liaison
Lynn Jones
302 Moffitt Library
(510) 643-9958
ljones@
library.berkeley.edu

Library Guides

Use subject guides and topical bibliographies, class guides, tip sheets, and general guides, created by librarians and library staff, to discover approaches to research.

African American Studies Guides and Topical Bibliographies

African American Diaspora materials in the Berkeley libraries

African-Americans in Hollywood: A Videography

African Americans in the Movies: A Bibliography of Film Criticism

Caribbean history microforms in the Berkeley libraries

Jazz periodicals in the Music Library

Guide to the NAACP Microfilm Collection

Tip Sheets

  • Finding FBI surveillance files

Several collections of federal surveillance and investigation files (primarily FBI and Justice Department files) have been preserved on microfilm by commercial publishers. These collections include valuable sources of primary materials, e.g. letters, newspaper and journal clippings, transcripts of speeches.

To find FBI files on individuals, search Pathfinder [pathfinder.berkeley.edu] using a title keyword search type. Use the terms FBI and the name of the individual or organization, e.g. fbi randolph or fbi sncc.

Some of these microfilms include many reels of microfilm. It is helpful to use a guide to navigate the collection. Some guides are printed and stored in the Newspaper/Microforms Room, and some are only in microform, either on separate reels or at the beginning of the first reel. Unless otherwise specified, guides to each collection are found on the beginning frames of the first microfilm reel.

 

General Guides

Guides to using the library's catalogs, doing research in the library and on the Internet, and citing your sources.

Copyright © 2008
The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved.
Document maintained on server: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/
Last updated 11/06/2007 . Server manager: contact