Psychology Research Guide

Using APA 6th

"Cheat Sheets" -- very handy guides showing examples of the different types of citations formatted according to APA 6th, from Wake Forest, Purdue and Harvard.

The fulltext of APA 6th is not available online, but we do have print copies in the reference collection of the Social Welfare and EdPsych Libraries at BF76.7 P83 2010, and it's available at other libraries on campus as well.

APA Style & Format from Capella Writing Center, is designed to help you quickly understand the fundamentals you need to write a course paper that meets the APA guidelines. It also has a very helpful guide to how to handle those confusing DOIs.

Basics of APA Style -- tutorial from APA on how to how to structure and format your work, reduce bias in language, avoid charges of plagiarism, cite references in text and it  provides selected reference examples. The APA Style Blog --  is searchable by topic and contains weekly posts by APA experts . 

PsycINFO to RefWorks

  1. Search PsycINFO.
  2. Select the desired references by checking the box to the left of each citation.
  3. After all the desired citations have been selected, click on RefWorks
  4. You will be asked if you want the records added, if so click on Export to RefWorks. (If you have a pop up blocker, it will then confirm that you do want to open RefWorks.)
  5. RefWorks then displays the last citations you added, and you can choose to add them to a specific folder . Or you can just leave them in the Last Imported folder. (If you want to create a new folder, just click on Folder and the drop down arrow will let you select make a new one.

RefWorks with Oskicat

Search OskiCat. Once you have records you want to export, if you are:

A. Viewing a list of results, check the box to the left of each record you wish to add to RefWorks, then click Save Selected Records, or

B. Viewing an individual record, click the Save Records button near the top of the window and then:

  1. Click the View Saved button near the top of the window
  2. Click Export Saved
  3. Select EndNote/RefWorks under Format of List
  4. Select Screen under Send List To
  5. Click Submit
  6. Use your browser’s Select All function, then Copy
  7. Open another browser window and access your RefWorks Account.
  8. Click References from the drop-down menu and select Import
  9. In the drop-down menu next to Import Filter/Data Source, choose Innovative Interfaces (EndNote/RefWorks Format)
  10. For Database, choose University of California, Berkeley
  11. In Import References into Folder, choose the desired folder, if you have already created a folder into which you want these references to import.  If not, make no selection here
  12. Click Import
  13. Select the radio button next to Import Data from the following Text.
  14.  Put your cursor in the box below Import Data from the following Text and select Edit > Paste in your browser.
  15. By default, all newly imported references appear in the Last Imported folder. Under View / Folders, select your folder to see the citations you just imported.  Note the UC-eLinks icon next to each reference.

Thanks to the Public Health Library for creating this guide!

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand! The Library offers workshops on Endnote, Zotero, and Refworks! Or contact your librarian for individual help.

  1. Zotero: A free plug-in that works with the Firefox browser, or with other browsers via a standalone version: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service (for up to 300 mb). The library has created this handy guide to using Zotero.
  2. RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
  3. EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central for about $80.

It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.

PubMed to RefWorks

An easy, quick guide (with screen shots), on how to import references from PubMed to RefWorks. It takes a minute, can save you many! Brought to you by Berkeley's Bioscience and Natural Resources Library.

Zotero Tips

If you've never used Zotero before, use the QuickStart Guide to get started.

Change your preferences if you want  Zotero to

  • set your default citation style
  • search the full text of pdfs you save
  • Automatically attach associated PDFs and other files when saving items

To use Zotero to find specific articles in our library's databases, set up the Open URL resolver with this link: http://ucelinks.cdlib.org:8888/sfx_local? 

 

Last Update: 07 Aug 10:21 | Tagged with: psychology