Data and Statistics
These links will guide you to various sources for statistics and data. If you are interested in manipulating a dataset on your own, please visit the Doe Library's Data Lab in 189 Doe.
Social Science Data Search
This Google Custom Search Engine (CSE) targets 500+ academic, government agency, non-profit, and other websites that provide downloadable statistical information and data sets. International and U.S.-based sites are included.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Consortium of 325 institutions working together to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan, ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in 130 countries. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Proquest Statistical Datasets
Provides fast and easy one-stop shopping to more than 5.3 billion (and growing) data points from licensed and public domain datasets. Sources of data include local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, variable of interest, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and even maps. Also provides quick graphs and chats for statistics in the news.
American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
Interactive, searchable database used to find population, housing, industry and business statistics from the U.S. Census. Data collected in Census 2000, the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, the American Community Survey and the 1997 Economic Census. Allows uses to compile census data into tables, maps and downloadable files, which can be viewed or printed.
RAND State Statistics
Statistics include: business & economics; population and demographics; education; community; health & socioeconomic; government finance; census; politics & public opinion. Also includes an online index to RAND public policy and research publications.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Presents up-to-date U.S. economic statistical information in areas such as 'Inflation and Spending' and 'International Statistics.' Also available are the latest numbers for the Consumer Price Index, unemployment rate, and the Producer Price. Provides past and current statistics for the U.S. economy as a whole; regional economic data can be obtained by clicking the state on a color-coded map.
California Statistical Abstract
Compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the State. The contributor for each table is given at the bottom of the table and may be contacted for more details or an explanation of the data.
Indexes over 1,900 journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.(Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Includes the full-text of 33 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 24 years. Covers such subjects as Childhood, Consumer Culture, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Labor Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory and Sociology of Sport.
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes more than 450 journals related to social work on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization. Platform change: this database is now available on the EBSCOhost platform.
Features 48,300 pages of content by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Emile Durkheim, Norbert Elias, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Erving Goffman, Karl Marx, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons, Mary Wollstonecraft and others. An advanced search interface allows sophisticated textual analyses of the included text.
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes scholarly and professional journals worldwide related to the fields of social work, social welfare, human services, community development, and social policy. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Indexes over 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. Use the link above, then under Current Limits, specify Social Sciences Citation Index. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Creating Alerts and Creating an RSS Feed.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. More than 70 languages are represented, with 30% percent of records published in languages other than English. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years. Covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Corrections, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
Family and Society Studies Worldwide
Indexes books, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, statistics, dissertations, and websites worldwide related to social science research about the family and society. Relates to the print counterparts, Inventory of Marriage & Family Literature and Australian Family & Society Abstracts.
Indexes more than 120 Gay Lesbian Bisexual Transgender (GLBT)-specific core periodicals and over 200 GLBT-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from over 40 priority periodicals and over 1,400 select titles. Also provides references to grey literature, newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Will soon contain all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.