The Mosque of Muhammad Ali Pasha
Interior of Mosque of Muhammad Ali Pasha
The Saladin Citadel of Cairo
Encyclopedia of Islam
Based on the 10-volume print encyclopedia and covers the Islamic religion and the Islamic world in general, both current and historical, including Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent, Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and other Islamic countries. Includes articles on political and religious institutions, history, topography, and distinguished Muslims both past and present.
A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool about Iranian history and civilization. The disciplines represented include, but are not confined to, anthropology, archaeology, geography, art history, ethnology, sociology, economics, history of religion, philosophy, mysticism, history of science and medicine, Islamic history, botany, zoology, folklore, development of agriculture and industry, political science, international relations, and diplomatic history. Articles are in English with multilingual bibliographies. [Must use Internet Explorer to access.]
Encyclopedia of the Quran
An encyclopedic dictionary of quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names and cultural history. Includes nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
Includes critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Covers every topic for which there is significant research, examining these regions from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present. Online counterpart of the 6-volume print edition published by Brill in 2003.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Includes over 3000 entries related to all aspects of Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Also includes chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines. Incorporates either in part or in full essential articles from the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, The Koran Interpreted, and The Concordance of the Qur'an,
Based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Da'irat al-Ma'arif-i Islami, one of the most comprehensive resources on Islam and the Muslim world.
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Literature
Covers all aspects of Arabic language and literature and contains topics from such interdisciplinary fields as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy and even computer science.
Last Update: 06 Mar 16:37