Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals. Some full-text.
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture. This database combines the resources of Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Offers the most comprehensive collection of French and Belgian journals in the humanities and social sciences available online.
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities.
Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings, statistical data, tests, dissertations, audiovisual materials, and ERIC documents on education research and practice.
Ethnic News Watch
Indexes over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics. Most records are in French, with about 33% in English.
Includes magazines, academic journals, newspapers, newsletters, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas.
Covers international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters from around the world.
Indexes publications from over 120 countries in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Includes the full-text of 33 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers such subjects as Childhood, Consumer Culture, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Labor Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory and Sociology of Sport.
Consists of both original volumes of Geschichte der arabischen Litteratur (GAL) by Carl Brockelmann (1868-1956), as well as the three supplement volumes, including indexes. Offers bio-bibliographic information about works written in Arabic and their authors, with an emphasis on the classical period. An important resource for anyone working on the Islamic world in general and the Middle East in particular.
Confidential Print: Middle East
Covers such events as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict. This collection originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked "Confidential Print" were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. These historical documents inform the volatile situation in the region today. Cross search with other Adam Matthews resources (Confidential Print: Africa and Foreign Office Files: China) by going to Archives Direct: Sources from the National Archives, UK.)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available. For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Brief English translations of Arabic, Kurdish, and Persian news articles from 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Diaspora. Subjects covered are Middle East and North African politics, culture, economy, and opinion pieces appearing in the print, radio, and television media of these countries, with links to the original sources.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Includes over 3000 entries related to all aspects of Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Also includes chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines. Incorporates either in part or in full essential articles from the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, The Koran Interpreted, and The Concordance of the Qur'an,
Last Update: 06 Mar 16:37