Canadian Studies

Reference Sources for Canadian Studies

Use the following types of reference sources to look up information related to Canadian Studies:

Dictionaries, Thesauri and QuotationsBiographical SourcesEncyclopedias and AlmanacsAtlases, Maps and GazetteersWeb Portals

Dictionaries, Thesauri, and Quotations

 

General and subject specific dictionaries in any language, dual language dictionaries, thesauri, dictionaries of quotations, and acronym lists.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online

Print

Canadian Oxford Dictionary / edited by Katherine Barber. 2nd ed. Don Mills, Ontario: Oxford University Press, 2004.
Main Stacks PE3235.C36 2004 & e-book


Dictionary of Canadian French = Dictionnaire du français canadien
/ Sinclair Robinson, Donald Smith. Toronto: Stoddart, 1990.
Main Stacks PC3637.R59 1990


Dictionnaires de langue française du Canada: lexicographie et société au Québec / Annick Farina; preface de Claude Poirier. Paris: Champion, 2001.
Main Stacks PC3637.F37 2001


Dictionnaire des canadianismes
/ Gaston Dulong. Nouv. ed., rev. et aug. Sillery, Québec : Septentrion, c1999.
Main Stacks PC3637.D82 1999 

Dictionnaire des régionalismes du français parlé des îles de La Madeleine / Chantal Naud. L'Etang-du-Nord [Québec] : Les Editions Vignaud, 1999.
Main Stacks PC3645.I43.N38 1999 

Guide to Canadian English usage / Margery Fee and Janice McAlpine. 2nd ed. Toronto; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.
Doe Reference PE3235.F44 2007 Dictionaries

Multi dictionnaire de la langue française / Marie-Éva de Villers. 4é ed. Montréal: Québec Amérique, 2003. Collection Langue et culture.
Doe Reference PC2625.V54 2003 Dictionaries

Library Databases

A complete list of licensed databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

  • Le Grand Robert electronique
    Based on the 12th edition of Le Grand Robert de la langue francaise (2001), it is the most complete French dictionary. Contains more than 100,000 entries, 325,000 quotations, and millions of synonyms and cross-references to related sources such as Petit Robert des noms propres (2004) and the bibliographie generale du Grand Robert. Advanced exploratory features for usage, derivation, variation, and etymologies of individual words.
  • Online Dictionary of the Social Sciences
    Covers the disciplines of sociolgy, criminology, political science and women's studies. Presented with a Canadian emphasis and perspective.
  • Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO)
    Bilingual dictionaries (English plus French, German, Italian and Spanish) published by Oxford University Press.
  • Oxford Reference Online - Bilingual Dictionaries
    More bilingual dictionaries published by Oxford University Press including English to French, Spanish, German, Italian, and Latin. Includes several bilingual business dictionaries.
  • Tresor de la langue francaise informatise (TLFi)
    Freely available electronic version of the Tresor de la langue francaise: dictionnaire de la langue de XIX et du XX Siecle(1789-1960), a 16-volume etymological and historical dictionary of 19th and 20th century French.

Biographical Sources

Online

Print 

Biographical Dictionary of American and Canadian Naturalists and Environmentalists/ edited by Keir B. Sterling ... [et al.]. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Bioscience QH26.B535 1997 Ref Shelves
Doe Refe QH26.B535 1997 Biographies

Canadian biographical index = Index biographique canadien = Kanadischer biographischer Index / compiled by Laureen Baillie. München: K.G. Saur, 2005.

Doe Refe F1006 .C353 2005 v.1-2 (2005)

Main Stacks F1005 .D5 v.1(1000/1700)-15(1921-1930)

Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1966-

Main Stacks F1005 .D5 v.1(1000/1700)-15(1921-1930)

Dictionnaire biographique des femmes célèbres et remarquables de notre histoire / Marie-Paule Desjardins. Montréal: Guérin, c2007.
Doe Refe CT3270.D47 2007 Bioographies

Dictionnaire des auteurs de langue française en Amerique du Nord. Reginald Hamel, John Hare, eds. Montréal: Fides, 1989.

Doe Refe PQ3897.A12.H36 1989

Main Stacks CT283.W55 2006

Who's Who in Black Canada 2: Black Success and Black Excellence in Canada: A Contemporary Directory / Dawn P.... [2nd. ed.] Toronto: D.P. Williams, c2006.

Main Stacks CT283.W55 2006

Who's Who in Canada. Toronto, International Press, 1923-2001. Continues: Who's who and why

NRLF/Main Stacks F1005.W6

Who's Who in Canadian Literature. Toronto: Reference Press, 1985-1988.

Main Stacks PR9189.6.W47

Library Databases

  • Benezit Dictionary of Artists
    Over 190,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present. Searchable via Oxford Art Online along with Grove Art Online, The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, etc.
  • Biography Reference Bank
    Contains biographical information on approximately 500,000 individuals from antiquity to the present.
  • Literature Resource Center (LRC)
    Indexes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
  • World Biographical Information System
    Indexes the complete contents of K. G. Saur's microfiche set Biographical Archives, providing short biographies on more than 3.6 million persons from all periods, countries and regions worldwide.

Encyclopedias and Almanacs

General or subject-specific encyclopedias, almanacs, and other collections of factual information. 

Online

Print

Canadian Encyclopedia of Social Work / Francis J. Turner, editor. Waterloo, Ont: Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2005.
Social Welfare Reference HV12 .C36 2005
Online via ebrary

Encyclopedia Canadiana. [Editor-in-chief: John E. Robbins] Ottawa, Canadiana Co. [1968]
Main Stacks F1006.E58 1968 v.1-10

*Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples / Paul Robert Magocsi, editor. Toronto; Buffalo: Published for the Multicultural History Society of Ontario by University of Toronto Press, c1999.
Doe Reference F1006.E66 1999

Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies / editor in chief, Jacob Ernest Cooke ; associate editors, W.J. Eccles ... [et al]. New York: C. Scribner's Sons; Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, c1993.
Doe Refe E45.E53 1993 v.1-3
Moffitt Refe E45.E53 1993 v.1-3

Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America / editors, John M. Herrick, Paul H. Stuart. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2005.
Doe Refe HV12.E497 2005

The Fitzhenry and Whiteside Book of Canadian Facts and Dates / editorial director Richard W. Pound ; supervising... 3rd ed. Markham, Ontario: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, c2005.
Doe Refe F1006.M94 2005

Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies / edited by Mona Baker and Gabriela Saldanha. 2nd ed. London; New York: Routledge, 2009.
Doe Refe P306.E57 2009

 

Library Databases

  • CIA World Factbook
    Provides fundamental and factual reference material on a country or issue including current economic statistics and indicators by country including population, GDP, external debt and birth and death rates. Includes maps.
  • Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles
    Indexes studies that provide analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports.
  • Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
    Covers the topics in contemporary linguistics from fundamental linguistic disciplines such as phonetics, syntax, and morphology to applications in other disciplines.
  • Europa World
    Provides political and economic information on over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
    The Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of literary theory and criticism, providing entries on critical schools and movements, critics and theorists, and terms, along with references and bibliographies for further research.
  • Literature Resource Center (LRC)
    Indexes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers by providing access to content of numerous print counterparts including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
  • Oxford Reference Online - Encyclopedias
    Online edition of The World Encyclopedia from Oxford University Press.

Atlases, Maps and Gazetteers

Online

Print

Concise Historical Atlas of Canada / edited by William G. Dean ... [et al.] ; cartography by Geoffrey J. Matthews and Byron Moldofsky. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, [1998]
Earth Sciences fG1116.S1.H52 1998

Library Databases

  • CIA World Factbook
    Provides fundamental and factual reference material on a country or issue including current economic statistics and indicators by country including population, GDP, external debt and birth and death rates. Includes maps.
  • Columbia Gazetteer of the World
    Geographical encyclopedia of names, descriptions, and characteristics of more than 165,000 places in the world.
  • Country Studies
    A continuing series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army. This series presently contains studies of 100 countries
  • David Rumsey Map Collection
    Contains to date over 8,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
  • Electronic Cultural Atlas Initiative
    Portal for global mapping, imagery, and texts. Presents combinations of data from multiple disciplines visually and immediately.
  • Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
    Provides electronic access to approximately 4,000 maps for all regions of the world. Maps cover mostly the 19th and 20th centuries though some represent time periods as far back as 980 C.E.

Web Portals

Web sites and subject-specific search engines available without restriction. See also Canadian Libraries and Archives under the Research Tools tab.

Online

Last Update: 16 Sep 17:29 | Tagged with: Canada Canadian Studies Francophone Canada Québec