Demography

Data and Statistics

These links will guide you to various sources for statistics and data.  If you are interested in manipulating a dataset on your own, please visit the Doe Library's Data Lab in 189 Doe.

  • Social Science Data Search
    This Google Custom Search Engine (CSE) targets 500+ academic, government agency, non-profit, and other websites that provide downloadable statistical information and data sets. International and U.S.-based sites are included.
  • Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
    Consortium of 325 institutions working together to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan, ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in 130 countries. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
  • Data Planet
    Provides fast and easy one-stop shopping to more than 5.3 billion (and growing) data points from licensed and public domain datasets. Sources of data include local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, variable of interest, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and even maps. Also provides quick graphs and chats for statistics in the news.
  • American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
    Interactive, searchable database used to find population, housing, industry and business statistics from the U.S. Census. Data collected in Census 2000, the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, the American Community Survey and the 1997 Economic Census. Allows uses to compile census data into tables, maps and downloadable files, which can be viewed or printed.
  • RAND State Statistics
    Statistics include: business & economics; population and demographics; education; community; health & socioeconomic; government finance; census; politics & public opinion. Also includes an online index to RAND public policy and research publications.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics
    Presents up-to-date U.S. economic statistical information in areas such as 'Inflation and Spending' and 'International Statistics.' Also available are the latest numbers for the Consumer Price Index, unemployment rate, and the Producer Price. Provides past and current statistics for the U.S. economy as a whole; regional economic data can be obtained by clicking the state on a color-coded map.
  • California Statistical Abstract
    Compilation of data on social, economic, and physical aspects of the State. The contributor for each table is given at the bottom of the table and may be contacted for more details or an explanation of the data.

Indexes

Online indexes for academic publishing relevant to demography.

  • Population Index
    Indexes research in population and demographic studies, including an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population topics. Covers the same years as the print equivalent, Population Index.
  • POPLINE
    Contains 300,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports related to population, family planning, and related health issues.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Indexes over 1,900 journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.(Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
  • Family and Society Studies Worldwide
    Indexes books, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, statistics, dissertations, and websites worldwide related to social science research about the family and society. Relates to the print counterparts, Inventory of Marriage & Family Literature and Australian Family & Society Abstracts.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
    Indexes over 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. Use the link above, then under Current Limits, specify Social Sciences Citation Index. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Creating Alerts and Creating an RSS Feed.
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
    Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. More than 70 languages are represented, with 30% percent of records published in languages other than English. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
  • PAIS International
    Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
  • EconLit
    The most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and indexes articles within 'collective works' (books consisting of collections of essays or individual papers). Most citations include a searchable abstract.
Last Update: 09 Sep 14:16 | Tagged with: aging population migration birth rate death rate