Comparative Literature

Encyclopedia

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia. Edited by Bruce Murphy. 4th ed. New York: HarperCollinsPublishers, 1996.
Doe Reference PN 41 .B4 1996
Moffitt Reference PN 41 .B4 1996

Cassell's encyclopaedia of world literature. Rev. and enl. New York, Morrow, 1973.
Doe Ref and PN 41 .C3 1973 v.1-3
Main Stack PN 4 1.C3 1973 v.1-3

Dictionnaire international des termes litteraires. Berne: Editions Francke, 1979-
Doe Reference PN 44.5 .D5

Encyclopedia of African literature.  Ed. Simon Gikandi. London; New York: Routledge, 2003.  Doe Reference Hall  PL8010.E63 2003

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms. Edited by Irene R. Makaryk. Toronto; Buffalo, NY: University of Toronto, 1993.
Doe Reference PN 81 .E5 1993
Main Stack PN 81 .E5 1993

Encyclopedia of German literature.  Matthias Konzett.  Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000–

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean literature, 1900-2003.  Eds. Daniel Balderston and Mike Gonzalez.  London; New York: Routledge, 2004.  Doe Reference Hall  PQ7081.A1.E558 2004

Encyclopedia of modern Greek literature.  Bruce Merry.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004. 

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century. 3rd ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1999.
Doe Reference PN771.E5 1999 v.1-4

The feminist encyclopedia of Italian literature. Ed. Rinaldina Russell. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.   Doe Reference PQ4063.F45 1997 and e-version

The modern encyclopedia of East Slavic, Baltic, and Eurasian literatures. Ed. Harry B. Weber, George J. Gutsche, and P. Rollberg.  Gulf Breeze, Fla.: Academic International Press, 1977–1996.

Dictionaries

See the subject pages for specific literatures for the best listing of dictionaries.

The Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism.  Ed. by Joseph Childers and Gary Hentzi. New York: Columbia University Press, 1995.
Doe Reference BH 39 .C62 1995   e-version available through Literature Online

Dictionnaire des genres et notions litteraires. 2e ed., Nouv. ed. augm. Paris: Encyclopaedia universalis : Albin Michel, 2001.
Main Stack PN 41 .D484 2001

Dictionary of literary themes and motifs.  Ed. Jean-Charles Seigneuret et al.  2 vols.  New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
Doe Reference PN 4 3.D481 1988

Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms. Edited by Roger Fowler. Rev. and enl. ed. London; New York: Routledge & K. Paul, 1987.
Main Stack PN 41 .D47941 1987

Dictionary of Scandinavian literature. Ed. Virpi Zuck et al.   New York: Greenwood Press, 1990.  Doe Ref and NRLF  PT7063.D5 1990

Dizionario Bompiani delle opere e dei personaggi di tutti i tempi e di tutte le letterature. Nuova ed. economica.  12 vols.  Milano : Bompiani, 1983-1984.
Doe Reference PN 41 .D5 1983

Grundbegriffe der Literaturwissenschaft. Edited by Heike Gfrereis. Stuttgart: J.B. Metzler, 1999.
Main Stack PN 44.5.G78 1999

Kindlers neues Literatur Lexikon.  Herausgegeben von Walter Jens. Munchen: Kindler, 1996.
Main PN 44 .K55 1996; Library has BOUND 1-22
Also available on CD-ROM at Doe Reference Desk

A Multicultural Dictionary of Literary Terms. Gary Carey and Mary Ellen Snodgrass. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland & Co., 1999.
Doe Reference Hall PN 41.C28 1999

Oxford Reference Online: Bilingual Dictionaries 

The York Companion to Themes and Motifs of World Literature: Mythology, History, and Folklore. Saad Elkhadem. Fredericton, N.B.: York Press, 1981.
Main Stack PN 43 .E4 1981

Handbooks

Comparative Literature: A Critical Introduction. Susan Bassnett. Oxford, UK; Cambridge, Mass.: Blackwell, 1993.
Main Stack PN 865 .B37 1993
Moffitt PN 86 5.B37 1993

Comparative Literature: Theory, Method, Application. Steven Totosy de Zepetnek. Amsterdam Atlanta, GA: Rodopi, 1998.
Main Stack PN 865 .T67 1998

Comparative Literature and Literary Theory: Survey and Introduction. Ulrich Weisstein. Translated by William Riggan. Bloomington: Indiana UP, 1973.
Main Stack PN 874 .W4 1973

Comparative Reader: A Handlist of Basic Reading in Comparative Literature.  John T. Kirby.  New Haven: Chancery Press, 1998.  Main PN871.A12.C66 1998

Convergences critiques: introduction a la lecture du litteraire. Christiane Chaulet-Achour. Ben Aknoun, Alger: Office des Publications Universitaires, 1995.
Main Stack PN 867.A24 1995

Die Schlusselliteratur. Georg Schneider, 1876-1960. Stuttgart, Hiersemann, 1951-53.
Main Stack Z 1026 .S35

Ensayo de un diccionario de la literatura. Federico Carlos Sainz de Robles. 2. ed., corr. y aumentada con mas de 1,000 articulos. Madrid, Aguilar, 1953-56.
Main Stack PN 41 .S3 1953
UC Berkeley does not own the 3rd edition, 1964-67, which also comprises 3 volumes.

Interrelations of Literature. Edited by Jean-Pierre Barricelli and Joseph Gibaldi. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1982.
Main Stack PN 45.8 .I56 1982
Moffitt PN 45.8 .I56 1982

Introduction a la litterature comparee: du commentaire a la dissertation. Daniele Chauvin and Yves Chevrel. Paris : Dunod, 1996.
Main Stack PN 865 .C43 1996

Motive der Weltliteratur: e. Lexikon dichtungsgeschichtl Langsschnitte. Elisabeth Frenzel. 1. Aufl.
Stuttgart : Kroner, 1976.
Main Stack PN 43 .F7
Main does not have the 2nd ed. of 1980.

Themes & Motifs in Western Literature: A Handbook. Horst S. Daemmrich. Tubingen: Francke, 1987.
Main Stack PN 43.D341 1987

Biographical Information

American Writers; A Collection of Literary Biographies. New York, Scribner, 1974.
Doe Reference PS 129 .A551 Biographies

British Writers. New York: Scribner, c1979-c1984. v.1-8; retrospective suppl. 1 2002
Doe Reference PR 85 .B688 Biographies

Contemporary Authors.
Doe Reference CT 214 .A12 .C59 Biographies
Online: Literary Resource Center (UC only)

Cyclopedia of World Authors. Edited by Frank N. Magill. 4th rev. ed.  5 vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2004..
Doe Reference PN 451 .M36 2004
Moffitt Reference PN 451 .M36 2004

Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Doe Reference PS 129 .D5
Also included in the online Literary Research Center (for UC users)

Dizionario Bompiani degli autori di tutti i tempi e di tutte le letterature.  6 vols.  Milano: Bompiani, 2006.
Main Stack PN 41 .D498 2006

European writers.  14 vols. New York: Scribner, 1983-c1991.
Main  PN 501 .E9 1983

Larousse Dictionary of Writers. Editor Rosemary Goring. Edinburgh; New York, N.Y.: Larousse, 1994.
NRLF PN 451.L37 1994

Magill’s Survey of World Literature.  6 vols.  Pasadena: Salem Press, 2009.  Doe Reference Hall  PN 523.M29 2009

Multicultural Writers from Antiquity to 1945: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook. Edited by Alba Amoia and Bettina L. Knapp. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002.
Doe Reference PN 452 .M85 2002

Last Update: 26 Sep 11:33