African American Studies

Web Gateways

Black Past: Remembered & Reclaimed
A reference center to primary and secondary resources on the African and African American experience in the United State and worldwide. Includes three modules: African American History, African American History in the West, and Global African History with links and encyclopedic entries on topics related to Africana history.

eBlack Studies
Resources recording all aspects of the history of African American thought and culture.

Stone Center Library for Black Culture and History Guide to the Web (UNC)
Guide to online primary and secondary African American Studies resources.

Collections & Libraries

African American Faculty and Senior Staff Oral History Project, Bancroft Library, UC Berkeley
Includes oral history transcripts from a pioneer Berkeley African American faculty and staff members.

African American Studies Diaspora Bibliography: UCB Holdings 1970-2003
UC Berkeley print holdings on diaspora studies for African American Studies.

Amistad Research Center (Tulane University)
Archives specializing on the modern Civil Rights Movement, history of slavery, race relations, and African American community development.

Auburn Avenue Research Library (Atlanta Public Library)
A special library of the Atlanta-Fulton County Library System. It is the first public library of its kind in the southeast offering specialized reference and archival collections for the study and research of African cultures.

Birmingham Civil Rights Institute Archives Division
Collections focus on documents relating to events that occurred during the civil rights struggle of the 1950's and 1960's in Birmingham and throughout the United States.

Emory University African American History and Culture Manuscript Collection
Guide to African American collections at Emory University's Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library (MARBL).

John Hope Franklin Collection for African and African American Documentation (Duke University)
Repository for African and African American studies documentation housed at the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University.

Martin Luther King Jr. Papers Project (Stanford)
The King Papers Project's principal mission is to publish a definitive fourteen-volume edition of King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts.

Moorland-Springarn Research Center (Howard University)
Collections include more than 175,000 bound volumes and tens of thousands of journals, periodicals, and newspapers; more than 17,000 feet of manuscript and archival collections; nearly 1000 audio tapes; hundreds of artifacts; 100,000 prints, photographs, maps, and other graphic items.

Morehouse College Martin Luther King Jr. Collection
Morehouse College Martin Luther King Jr. papers housed at the Robert W. Woodruff Atlanta University Center Library.

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture is a national research library devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the experiences of peoples of African descent throughout the world.

Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture
The NMAAHC is scheduled open in Washington D.C. in 2015. The collection is currently located in the National Museum of American History.

Digital Collections

African Americans in California (UC Berkeley)
An online exhibit from the Bancroft Library that highlights the library's archival, print and digital collections relating to the history of African Americans in the West, including the NAACP Western Regional Archive, and the papers of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters union.

Black Panther Party Legacy
Numerous photos, films, and documents archiving the history and legacy of the BPP.

Marcus Garvey and UNIA Papers Project (UCLA)
Includes documents, photos, and sound recordings from the Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers.

New York Historical Society : Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery
The New York Historical Society has placed its fourteen most important manuscript collections relating to slavery online. The collection includes diaries, account books, letter books, ships’ logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions.

W.E.B. DuBois Papers (University of Massachusetts)
Includes papers, manuscripts, letters and nearly 900 photographs of the life and work of W.E.B. DuBois.

Organizations

Last Update: 15 Aug 15:15 | Tagged with: African American Studies African Studies Africana