About the German Studies Collection
The Library's support of German Studies at Berkeley includes campus programs covering all periods and aspects of German linguistics and literature; the history of the German-speaking peoples from the earliest period to the present; as well as the politics, philosophy, sociology and cultural achievements of these populations. Berkeley's German Studies programs have been consistently ranked in the top echelon of such programs in the United States, and the Library strives to collect broadly and deeply across disciplinary lines in support of them.
In addition to its general collections of German Studies materials in the Main Stacks, the Library also has numerous special collections from and about Germany. One such body of materials in The Bancroft Library is the Fruchtbringende Gesellschaft collection, which documents the life and works of the members of Germany's first literary society.
A list of monographic titles cataloged or recataloged within the previous 60 days is available by clicking this link: Recent Acquisitions.
Purchase Recommendation Form
If you'd like to recommend an item to be added to the collection, please use the Purchase Recommendation Form.
Giving to the German Studies Collection
Private donors are very important in sustaining the excellence of our collections and services.
The following types of gifts are available:
Book Donations: Gifts of scholarly materials and the results of research have historically represented a significant element in the development of our outstanding research collections. We welcome individual gifts, but due to space and staff limitations, we must be judicious in accepting large contributions. Contact James Spohrer, Librarian for the German Studies Collection, about the materials you wish to donate.
Donations of recently published books are also welcomed. New book purchases will be checked to ensure titles are not on order.
Memorial and Honorific Gifts: Contributions given in memory or in honor of a person are welcomed. For a gift of $1,000 or more, a named memorial book fund can be established. A special book plate will be created and placed in each book.
Named Endowment: Endowment funds may be established with a gift of $50,000 or more. These funds provide the library with an annual income in perpetuity and have a lasting impact on maintaining a world class collection within the Library's German Studies Collection. The University invests its endowments carefully to achieve a healthy rate of return that provides for both current needs and long-term growth. A special book plate will be created and placed in each book.
Cash Gifts for Book Purchases: Cash contributions of any amount are welcomed and can be made directly to the Library using the online form. In the section marked "special instructions or designations for this gift," specify "German Studies Collection."
If you prefer to send a check, make it payable to the UC Regents (indicate which collection it is for) and mail it to: Jason Schultz, Interim Librarian for the German Studies Collection, 438 Doe Memorial Library, University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720.