Folklore

Dictionaries

Aldhouse-Green, Miranda J.  Dictionary of Celtic Myth and Legend.  New York: Thames and Hudson, 1992.  Anthropology Library and Main   BL980.I7.G65 1992

Bell, Robrt E.  Women of Classical Mythology: A Biographical Dictionary.  Santa Barbara: AB-CLIO, 1991.  Doe Reference and Main  BL715.B445 1991

Briggs, Katharine M. A Dictionary of British Folk-tales in the English Language Incorporating the F.J. Norton Collection. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1970-71. 2 vols.
Doe Reference and Anthropology Library GR141 .B69    

Craig, Robert D.  Dictionary of Polynesian Mythology.  New York: Greenwood, 1989.  Anthropology Library Reference and Main  BL2620.P6.C7 1989

Dictionary of Superstitions, edited by Iona Opie and Moira Tatem. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
Anthropology Reference, Doe Reference, Main BF 1775 .D531 1989
Most of the superstitions are from England and Eire. Focus is on 18th-19th centuries.

Ellis, Peter Berresford.  A Dictionary of Irish Mythology.  Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 1989.  NRLF BL980.I7.E451 1987

Dictionnaire des Mythes Féminins, sous la direction de Pierre Brunel avec la collaboration de Frédéric Mancier.  Monaco: Rocher, 2002.   Main BL325.W65.D53 2002

Funk and Wagnalls Standard Dictionary of Folklore, Mythology, and Legend, ed. by Marian Leach and Jerome Fried.  New York: Funk & Wagnalls, 1972.
Anthropology Library Reference and Main GR35 .F82   

Gerlach, Walter. Das neue Lexikon des Aberglaubens. Frankfurt am Main: Eichborn, c1998.
Main Stack BF 1775 .G47 1998

Gill, Sam D. and Irene F. Sullivan. Dictionary of Native American Mythology. Denver, Colo.: ABC-CLIO, 1992.
Doe Reference and Main E 98 .R3 .G46 1992
Covers 1,300 stories, characters, ceremonies, terms, themes, and symbols drawn from Native American mythology and ritual.

Grimal, Pierre.  The Dictionary of Classical Mythology.  Transl. A. R. Maxwell-Hyslop.  Oxford: Blackwell, 1987.  Doe Reference BL715.G7131 1987

Laurioz, Hubert. Dictionnaire des superstitions. Paris : Albin Michel, 1998.
Main Stack BF 1775 .L38 1998

Leeming, David Adams. A Dictionary of Asian Mythology. New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Main Stack BL 1005 .L46 2001    Oxford ebook  

Liungman, Carl G.  Dictionary of Symbols.  ABC-CLIO, 1992.  Main BL603.L5413 1991  Gives hitory and meanings of around 1500 Western symbols (ideograms). 

MacKillop, James,  Dictionary of Celtic Mythology.  Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998.  Main   BL900.M445 1998  and ebook 

The Oxford Dictionary of English Proverbs, rev. by F.P. Wilson. 3rd ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1970.
Doe Reference, Anthropology Reference and NRLF  PN6421 .O9 1970

Sax, Boria. The Mythical Zoo: An Encyclopedia of Animals in World Myth, Legend, and Literature. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO , 2001.
Doe Reference GR 705 .S344 2001
Covers real and imaginary animals from world myth and legend. Comprehensive index.

Scheub, Harold. A Dictionary of African Mythology: The Mythmaker as Storyteller. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Doe Reference BL 2400 .S24 2000     Oxford ebook  
Selection of 400 myths arranged by name of principle character. Extensive bibliography.

Simpson, Jacqueline and Steve Roud. A Dictionary of English Folklore. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Main   GR 141 .S573 2000     Oxford ebook 
1,250 entries about people, customs, animals, plants, minerals, legends, music, games, places, dates, dances, birds, numbers, gestures, life-cycle events, colors, and other subjects of folklore including modern phenomenon.

Smyth, Daragh.  A Guide to Irish Mythology.  Dublin: Irish Academic Press, 1988.  Main and NRLF  BL980.I7.S4 1988

Sykes, Egerton.  Who's Who in Non-Classical Mythology.  Rev. by Alan Kendall.  New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. 

 

 

Last Update: 26 Sep 11:22