Folklore

Bibliographies

Azzolina, David S.  Tale Type- and Motif-Indexes: An Annotated Bibliography.  New Yorik: Garland, 1987.   Anthropology Library and Doe Reference  GR74.6.A12.A981 1987

Baer, Florence E. Folklore and Literature of the British Isles: An Annotated Bibliography. Florence E Baer. New York, N.Y.: Garland Pub., 1986.
Main PR 149 .F64 .A12 .B341 1986
Originated as Berkeley dissertation.

Bennett, Gillian and Paul Smith. Contemporary Legend: A Folklore Bibliography. New York: Garland, 1993.
Anthropology, Doe Reference, Main GR 78 .A12 .B46 1993

Bernardo, Gabriel Adriano and Francisco Demetrio Y. Radaza.  A Critical and Annotated Bibliography of Philippine, Indonesian and Other Malayan Folk-Lore.  Cagauam de Prp Cotu. Xavoer Imoversotu. 1972. Main and South/Southeast Asia Library    GR308.A12.B47 1972 

Carnes, Pack. Fable Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1985.
Doe Reference, Moffitt, Anthropology PN 980 .A12 .C37 1985

Clements, William M. and Frances M. Malpezzi.  Native American Folklore, 1879-1979: An Annotated Bibliography.  Athens, Ohio: Swallow Press, 1984.   Anthropology Library, Native American Studies Reference, and Main  E98.F6.A12.C55 1984

Danandjaja, James.  An Annotated Bibliography of Javanese Folklore.  Berkeley: Center for South and Southeast Asia Studies, University of California, 1972.  Main, Anthropology Library, South/Southeast Asia Library  GR324.J3.A12.D3   Originated as a Berkeley dissertation.

Falassi, Alessandro.  Italian Folklore: An Annotated Bibliography.   New York: Garland, 1985. Anthropology Library and Main   GR176.A12.F34 1985

Flanagan, Cathleen C. and John T. Flanagan. American Folklore: A Bibliography 1950-1974. Metuchen: Scarecrow, 1977.
Main,  Anthropology, Graduate Services, Music Reference GR 105 .A12 .F55

Fowke, Edith Fulton Fowke and Carole Henderson Carpenter.  A Bibliography of Canadian Folklore in English.  Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1981.  Anthropology Library and Doe Reference   GR113.A12.F6

Georges, Robert A. and Stephen Stern.  American and Canadian Immigrant and Ethnic Folklore: An Annotated Bibliography.  New York: Garland, 1982.  Anthropology Library, Ethnic Studies Library and Main   GR105.G43 1982

Görög, Veronika. Bibliographie annotée litterature orale d'Afrique noire. Paris: Conseil international de la langue francaise, 1992.
Main Stack, NRLF GR 350 .A357 .G67 1992

Görög, Veronika. Litterature orale d'Afrique noire: bibliographie analytique. Paris: B.-P. Maisonneuve et Larose, 1981.
Anthropology Library, NRLF GB 353 .A12 .G6 1981

Handoo, Jawaharlal. A Bibliography of Indian Folk Literature.  Mysore : Central Institute of Indian Languages, 1977.  Main  GR305.A12.H3

Haywood, Charles. A Bibliography of North American Folklore and Folksong. 2nd rev. ed, 2 vols. New York: Dover Publications, 1961.
Anthropology and Main GR 105 .A12 .H37 1961

Jones, Steven Swann. Folklore and Literature in the United States: An Annotated Bibliography of Studies of Folklore in American Literature. New York: Garland Pub., 1984.
Main Stack PS 169 .F64 .A12 .J6 1984

Kirkland, Edwin C. A Bibliography of South Asian Folklore. Bloomington, Indiana University Research Center in Anthropology, Folklore, and Linguistics. 1966.
Anthropology Library, South/Southeast Asia Library GR 265 .K5

Kulikowski, Mark.  A Bibliography of Slavic Mythology.  Columbus: Slavica, 1989.   Main BL930. A12.K85 1989                                    

Melts, M. IA. Russkii folklor. Bibliograficheskii ukazatel'. Akademiia nauk SSSR, Institut russkoi literatury (Pushkinskii dom), Biblioteka akademii nauk. Leningrad: Akademiia, 1961.     
Main Stack GR 30.M4

Mieder, Wolfgang. International Proverb Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1982.
Anthropology Library PN 6401 .M543 1990
Main Stack PN 6401 .M543 1990
Suppl. 1-3, 1990-2001.
Anthropology Library (v.1-3) and Main (v.1,3)  PN 6401 .M543 1990
Annotated by key words.

Mood, Terry Ann. American Regional Folklore: A Sourcebook and Research Guide. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2004.
Anthropology Reference, Doe Reference, Main GR 105.34 .M66 2004
Divided into a section on the U. S. as a whole and then by geographical parts of the country. Each section begins with an overview essay written by a folklore scholar about folklore in that region, followed by a selective, annotated bibliography of books and related resources. Confusing index leads user to entries in the numbered bibliographies.

Nederlandse volkskundige bibliografie; systematische registers op tijdschriften, reekswerken en gelegenheidsuitgaven. Antwerpen: Centrum voor Studie en Documentatie, 1964.
UCLA YRL Z5984 .N4 N28

Niles, Susan A.  South American Indian Narrative, Theoretical and Analytical Approaches: An Annotated Bibliography.  New York: Garland, 1981.  Anthropology Library, Doe Reference and Main  F2230.1.F6.N54

Richmond, W. Edson (Winthrop Edson). Ballad Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1989.
Main Stack PN61110 .B2 .R53 1989

Russkii Fol'klor.  Moskva: Institut russkoi literatury (Pushkinskii dom), 1956-       Main  GR190.A45

Schuursma, Ann Briegleb. Ethnomusicology Research: A Select Annotated Bibliography. New York: Garland Pub., 1992.
Music Library Reference  ML128 .E8 .A12 .S4 1992
Descriptive annotations of nearly 500 publications appearing since 1960.

Simmons, MeF6.N54rle Edwin. Folklore Bibliography for 1973, for 1974, for 1975, for 1976. Bloomington: Published for the Folklore Institute by the Research Center for Language and Semiotic Studies, Indiana University, 1975-81.
Main Stack GR 1 .I55 no.33 (28, 29, 31)
Bibliography covers books and articles published in or relating to the folklore of the U.S., Canada, Latin America, Spain, Portugal and other Spanish or Portuguese-speaking areas. Continues the annual Folklore Bibliography (covering 1938-73) found in Southern Folklore Quarterly.

Steinfirst, Susan.  Folklore and Folklife: A Guide to English-Language Reference Sources.  2 vols.  New York: Garland, 1992   Anthropology Library and Main   GR66.A12.S74 1992

Szwed, John F. Afro-American Folk Culture: An Annotated Bibliography of Materials from North, Central, and South America, and the West Indies. Philadelphia: Institute for the Study of Human Issues, 1978.
Anthropology Library Reference, Doe Reference, Main GR 103 .A12 .S98
Dated but still valuable because of its broad coverage.

Yassif, Eli.  Jewish Folklore: An Annotated Bibliography.   New York: Garland, 1986.  Anthropology Library, Doe Reference and Main  GR98.A12.Y371 1986

 

Last Update: 26 Sep 11:22