Folklore

Encyclopedias

Peek, Philip M. and Ywesi Yankah, eds.  African Folklore: An Encyclopedia.  New York: Rougledge, 2004.   Anthropology Library Reference and Doe Reference  GR350.Ass 2004

Brunvand, Jan Harold, ed. American Folklore: An Encyclopedia. New York: Garland Pub., 1996.
Anthropology Library Reference and Doe Reference  GR 101 .A54 1996
North American folklore and does not include Native American folklore. Scholarly, signed articles with information about contributors. Most articles include a bibliography.

Encyclopedia Mythica
Online access to over 17,000 articles about myths of many countries.

Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature, ed. Mary Ellen Brown and Bruce A. Rosenberg. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
Anthropology Library Reference and Doe Reference  PN 41 .E48 1998
Signed articles of varied quality and depth.

Brunvand, Jan Harold. Encyclopedia of Urban Legends. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
Anthropology Library Reference and Main GR 105.34 .B78 2001
Brunvand has published several volumes on urban legends; this volume has over 500 entries and 150,000 words and summarizes a multitude of legends and also has articles on related topics about legends in other countries and collecting legends.  Most entries have bibliographies.

Enzyklopädie des Märchens: Handwörterbuch zur historischen und vergleichenden Erzahlforschung. Berlin; New York: de Gruyter, 1977-
Main Stack GR 72 .E58
Will be complete in 12 volumes. Long, signed articles with bibliographies.

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art. Edited by Thomas A. Green. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1997.
Anthropology Library and Main GR 35 .F63 1997
2 volume collection of signed articles by experts on the topic. Included bibliographies.

The Folklore of American Holidays. Edited. by Hennig Cohen and Tristram Potter Coffin. 3rd ed. Detroit: Gale Research, 1999.
Doe Reference GT 4803 .F65 1999
Arranged in chronological order, this volume describes 140 holidays celebrated in the United States and gives the folklore associated with each.

The Folklore of World Holidays. Edited by Margaret Read MacDonald. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992.
Main Stack and NRLF  GT 3930 .F65 1992

Clements, William M., ed.  Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife.  Westport: Greenwood, 2006.   Anthropology Library and Doe Reference  GR35.G75 2006

Bächtold-Stäubli, Hanns et. al., eds.  Handwörterbuch des deutschen Aberglaubens.  Berlin und Leipzig, W. de Gruyter & Co., 1927-42.
Main Stack BF 1434 .G4 .B3

Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC).  Zürich: Artemis, 1981-2009.  8 vol. and 2 index vols.  Covers the iconography of Greek, Etruscan and Roman mythology from the post-Mycenaean period to the early Christian period.  Art History/Classics  NX650.M9.L48

Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs, ed. by Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 2000. 2v. Reprinted in 1 vol. in 2002 by Oxford University Press.
Doe Reference GR 35 .M43 2000
Focus is on European folklore of 500-1500 A. D. Over 300 signed entries written by experts in the field, including Berkeley’s internationally known expert, John Lindow. Each article has a bibliography.

Mercatante, Anthony S. and James R. Dow. The Facts on File Encyclopedia Of World Mythology And Legend. 2nd ed. New York : Facts on File, 2004.
Doe and Moffitt Reference BL 303 .M45 2004
Covers over 3000 myths and legends from around the world, though the preponderance of entries are on those arising from Europe.

New Larousse Encyclopedia of Mythology.  New York: Putnam, 1968.  Anthropology Library  BL311.N43 1968.  Articles on the mythologies of many countries.

Ó hÓgáin, Dáithí.  The Lore of Ireland: An Encyclopeaedia of Myth, Legend and Romance.  Rochester: Boydell & Brewer, 2006.   Doe Reference GR153.5.O156 2006    Over 350 entries ranging in length from a short paragraph to several pages.  Does not cover the contemporary.

Prahlad, Anand, ed.  The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore.  Westport: Greenwood, 2006.  3 vols.   Anthropology and Doe Reference  GR111.A47.G74 2006  

Slatta, Richard W. The Mythical West: An Encyclopedia of Legend, Lore, and Popular Culture. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
Anthropology Library Reference and Doe Reference GR 109 .S53 2001
Articles on the West as mythologised in literature, art, Hollywood, television, and on the Internet.

Seal, Graham.  Encyclopedia of Folk Heroes. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO , 2001.
Main Stack GR 35 .S4 2001
Emphasis on heroes from Europe, North America, China, Japan, parts of Africa and Australia. Excludes gods and goddesses but includes real people when larger than life and heroes and heroines of fairy tales and story cycles. Four indexes and a bibliography.

Thompson, Sue Ellen. Holiday Symbols and Customs. 4th ed. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 2009.
Doe Reference  GT 3930 .T48 2009
Arranged alphabetically by the holiday or event. Each entry includes information about the holiday, the folklore associated with it, and list of resources for further research.

South Asian Folklore: An Encyclopedia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.   Ed. by Peter J. Claus, Sarah Diamond, Margaret Ann Mills.  New York: Routledge, 2003.   Anthropology Reference, Doe Reference, South/Southeast Asia Library  GR302.S68 2003

Walker, Barbara G.  The Woman's Encyclopedia of Myths and Secrets.  San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1983.  Doe Reference BL458.W34 1983   Over 1300 entries with bibliographical notes for each.

Haussig, H. W., ed.  Wörterbuch der Mythologie.   Stuttgart: E. Klett, 1965-       Main BL300.W6

 

Companions

Companion to Literary Myths, Heroes and Archetypes.   Edited by Pierre Brunel; translated from the French by Wendy Allatson, Judith Hayward, Trista Selous. London; New York : Routledge, 1992. Main  PN56.M95.D4813  1992

 Mythologies. Compiled by Yves Bonnefoy; a restructured translation of Dictionnaire des mythologies et des religions des sociétés traditionnelles et du monde antique prepared under the direction of Wendy Doniger; translated by Gerald Honigsblum et al.  Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 1991.  2 v. Main  BL311 .D513 1991

 The Oxford Companion to Australian folklore.  Edited by Gwenda Beed Davey and Graham Seal.  Melbourne; New York : Oxford University Press, 1993. Anthropology and Main  GR365.O94 1993

The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales.  Edited by Jack Zipes. Oxford; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.  Main  PN3437.O94    ebook

 

Last Update: 26 Sep 11:22