Human Rights Resources

NGOs & Human Rights

This search engine was developed by David Oldenkamp at Indiana University and James Jacobs at Stanford. The site seaches NGOs with Consultative Status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council and other NGO directories on the Internet.

Amnesty International. Contains new document summaries, publications from AI (including the annual country reports) and links.Their current annual report is available on their site, while older editions are available in the Main (Gardner) Stacks.

Asylumlaw.org. Includes human rights reports on several countries providing resources for case support (country condition information), legal research, and links to other relevant sites in the Case Support section.

The Advocates for Human Rights. In-depth coverage on human rights issues in the US from a legal perspective:

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) US Human Rights Page.  ACLU Human Rights Program (HRP) dedicated to holding the U.S. government accountable to universal human rights principles in addition to rights guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution.

China’s Report on US Human Rights Violations. Interesting anc challenging account of United States Human Rights violations according to Xinhua, the official Chinese news source.

Human Rights Watch. One of the premier human rights NGOs worldwide.  Browse of search human rights related publications by country and/or topic. See also Human Rights Watch US

Human Traficking Search
. Search engine focusing on human trafficking, including human trafficking, child labor, bonded labor and sex slavery.   The site can be searched or browsed and much of the content is full text.

International Crisis Group. Independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict. See especially the Crisis Watch Database for a 12-page monthly bulletin designed to provide an update on significant situations of conflict or potential conflict around the world.

National Economic and Social Rights Initiative. Comprehensive and up-to-date news and info about economic and social rights in the US.

OneWorld Online. OneWorld is "dedicated to promoting human rights and sustainable development by harnessing the democratic potential of the Internet."  It contains news, thematic guides and other resources.

Protection Project. Documents and disseminates information about trafficking in persons, especially women and children, with a focus on national and international laws, case law, and implications of trafficking on foreign policy.

US Human Rights Network. Latest info on US Human Rights Issues. The "Resources" Link gives updates on current US issues.

The United Nations and Civil Society

This page lists selected civil society organizations engaged in monitoring and critiquing the UN. Such organizations are often the best way to quickly find UN information related to a specific humna rights topic.

Center for UN Reform Education.  Independent, non-partisan, non-profit policy research organization dedicated to encourage, generate and sustain discussion of various specific proposals to reform and restructure the United Nations.

Coaltion for the International Criminal Court. Includes 2,500 civil society organizations in 150 different countries working in partnership to strengthen international cooperation with the ICC.

Free United Nations Coaltion for Access.  Organization aiming to "hold the UN to its stated purposes by making it transparent and accessible without discrimination."

Global Center for the Responsibility to Protect.  International NGO created to "transform the principle of the responsibility to protect into a practical guide for action in the face of mass atrocities."

Global Policy Forum. Independent policy watchdog that monitors the work of the United Nations and scrutinizes global policymaking.

Inner City Press. "Investigative reporting From the Inner City to Wall Street to the United Nations."

International Coalition for the Responsibility to Protect.  Coalition bringing together NGOs from all regions of the world to strengthen normative consensus for RtoP. Affiliated with the World Federalist Movement.

International Progress Organization.  Vienna rganization that sponsors international conferences and research seminars on democracy, human rights, dialogue of civilizations,  conflict resolution, and other international issues.

Reform the UN. From the World Federalist Movement.  Dedicated to a strengthened and more democratized United Nations.

Security Council Report. Independent organisation founded on the belief that high-quality information about the activities of the UN Security Council and is essential to the performance of the Council and an informed public.

United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs: NGO Branch. Includes a searchable database of  UN civil society organizations. Advanced search allows many combinations, including by organization name and type, region and country, consultative status, language, geographic scope, fields of activity and meeting participation.

UNElections.Org Encourages the UN to increase transparency regarding how posts are filled, place a greater emphasis on individual qualifications, reduce the political and financial trading of positions, etc.

United Nations Global Compact.  UN strategic policy initiative for businesses committed to aligning their operations and strategies with ten universally accepted principles in the areas of human rights, labour, environment and anti-corruption.

United Nations and Civil Society. UN gateway site to information about non-governmental and civil society organizations with consultative status with the UN Economic and Social Council.

UN Watch. Non-governmental organization mandated to monitor the performance of the United Nations by the yardstick of its own Charter.

World Federalist Movement/Institute for Global Policy.  Works to advance the global promise of peace and is committed to building a safer and more just world. Affiliated with many other UN reform and advocacy groups listed above.

Last Update: 27 Oct 14:17