Italian Studies

Research Tools for Italian Studies

Search the catalogs

Archival Collections and Primary Sources

Use these web sites, print reference sources, or library databases to find primary sources, such as manuscripts, diaries, letters, firsthand accounts, or historical documents on a subject, person, event or issue. See also the library guide Finding Primary Sources and List of Archival Collections on the Berkeley campus.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online

Library Databases

The complete list of databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

  • Archive Finder (including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland)
    Directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
  • ArchiveGrid
    Searchable descriptions of nearly a million historical documents, personal papers, and family histories kept in libraries, museums, and archives worldwide. Includes information on how to examine and order copies.
  • ARTstor
    A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines.
  • Digital Scriptorium
    An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University and the Union Theological Seminary.
  • Electronic Enlightenment
    Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library provides direct access to more than 10 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Repositories of Primary Sources
    Lists over 5000 websites describing the holdings of archives and manuscript, rare books, historical photograph and other primary source collections.
  • Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture
    Includes more than 30,000 images from some 35 image collections from museums, universities and private collections throughout the world in the areas of cartography, fine arts, architecture, and photography.

Article Indexes and Databases

Listed below is a broad selection of article indexes recommended for research in Italian Studies. For additional resources, please consult the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Online

Library Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
  • AIDA Online
    The Bibliography Articoli italiani di periodici accademici (AIDA) indexes articles from scholarly journals covering the humanities and social sciences.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
    Indexes over 1,000 of the leading arts and humanities journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations.
  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
    Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of over 770 journals.
  • International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
    Indexes over 4500 periodicals and 5000 conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, edited volumes, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues covering all aspects of the middle ages (400-1500 A.D.) in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
  • ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance
    Indexes over 300 journal titles to create a bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of some 475 journals published between 1802 and 1995.

Bibliographies and Subject Guides

Selected lists of materials in any format organized around a common theme or topic.

Library Databases

Print


Dictionary of Italian Literature. Peter Bondanella and Julia Conaway Bondanella, editors-in-chief. Rev., expanded ed. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. Doe Reference PQ4006.D45 1996 Read at Google Read at Google


Dizionario del fascismo / a cura di Victoria De Grazia, Sergio Luzzatto.Torino: G. Einaudi, c2002-c2003. Main Stacks D726.5.D59 2002 v.1-2 Read at Google Read at Google


Dizionario critico della letteratura italiana. Diretto da Vittore Branca, con la collaborazione di Armando Balduino, Manlio Pastore Stocchi, Marco Pecoraro. 2a ed. Torino: Unione tipografico-editrice torinese, c1986. Doe Reference PQ4006 .D45 1986 v.1-4


Dizionario critico della letteratura italiana del Novecento. Enrico Ghidetti, Giorgio Luti. 1. ed. Roma: Editori riuniti, 1997. Main Stacks PQ4057.G48 1997 Read at Google Read at Google


Dizionario delle opere della letteratura italiana. Diretto da Alberto Asor Rosa. Torino: G. Einaudi, 2006. Doe Reference PQ4006.D49 2006 v.1-2 Read at Google Read at Google


Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies. Marrone, et al, eds. New York: Routledge, 2007. Doe Reference Hall PQ4006.E536 2007 v.1-2 Read at Google Read at Google


The Feminist Encyclopedia of Italian Literature / edited by Rinaldina Russell. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. Doe Reference PQ4063 .F45 1997 & online vie ebrary Read at Google Read at Google


*Futurismo: bibliografia di 500 scrittori italiani / Cammarota, M. D, and Centro internazionale studi futurismo (Museo d'arte moderna e contemporanea di Trento e Rovereto). Milano: Skira, 2006. Main Stacks PQ4053.F87 C36 2006 Read at Google Read at Google


*Historical Dictionary of Italian Cinema / Gino Moliterno. Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2008. Doe Reference PN1993.5.I88 M56 2008 Read at Google Read at Google


La Letteratura italiana del Novecento Rizzoli Larousse / Diretta da Nino Borsellino e Walter Pedulla. Milano: Rizzoli, 2000. Doe Reference PQ4087.L433 2000 v.1-2


*Letteratura italiana del XXI secolo: primo dizionario orientativo degli scrittori / a cura di Francesco De Napoli, Rodolfo Tommasi. Arezzo: Helicon, 2010. Doe Reference PQ4057 .L48 2010 Read at Google Read at Google


*Manuale critico-bibliografico per lo studio della letteratura Italiana / Giorgio Baroni and Mario Puppo. 5th ed. Torino: SEI, 2002. Doe Reference PQ4037.B33 2002


Manuale di letteratura italiana : storia per generi e problemi / a cura di Franco Brioschi e Costanzo Di Girolamo. Torino: Bollati Boringhieri, 1993 Main Stacks PQ4037.M26 1993 v.1-4 (1993-1996) Read at Google Read at Google


*A New Guide to Italian Cinema / Carlo Celli and Marga Cottino-Jones. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007. Main Stacks PN1993.5.I88 C45 2007 & online via ebrary Read at Google Read at Google


Novecento: i contemporanei: gli scrittori e la cultura letteraria nella societa italiana. Ideazione e direzione di Gianni Grana. Milano: Marzorati, [1979]. Main Stacks PQ4087.N6 v.1-10


The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature. Peter Hainsworth and David Robey, eds. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2002. Doe Reference Hall PQ4006.O84 2002 Read at Google Read at Google


Storia della letteratura italiana / diretta da Enrico Malato. Roma : Salerno, c1995. Main Stacks PQ4037.S867 1995 v.1-14 (c1995-c2005) Read at Google Read at Google


Storia e testi della letteratura italiana. Giulio Ferroni et al. Torino: Einaudi scuola, 2002 Main Stacks PQ4037.S76 2002 v.1:1-1:4, 5-11


Twentieth-Century Italian Literature in English Translation: An Annotated Bibliography 1929-1997. Robin Healey. Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, 1998. Doe Reference PQ4051.H43 1998 Read at Google Read at Google

Book Reviews

Most library databases for this grouping index primarily US and UK publications. The print and online tools listed below are better for European reviews. MLA, Historical Abstracts, and Periodicals Index Online can be helpful in locating discipline-specific reviews in core Italian Studies journals like Archivio storico italiano, Critica letteraria, Lettere italiane, or Rivista di letteratura italiana.

Online

Print

A couple paper sources to peruse for recent reviews of Italian publications include:

L'indice dei libri del mese. Torino: s.n., 1984-
Main Stacks f Z2354.B6 I54 latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

La rivista dei libri. Milano: Gruppo Editoriale Fabbri, c1991-
Main Stacks f AP37 .R58 latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Library Databases

  • Book Review Digest Plus
    Indexes book reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults, from over 8000 leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Includes several thousand full text reviews. For book reviews published from 1905 to 1982 go to Book Review Digest Retrospective which can be searched separately or simultaneously.
  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
    Some 1.5 million reviews of more than 300,000 books. For access to book reviews written since 1983, search Book Review Digest Plus which can be searched separately or simultaneously.
  • Book Review Index
    More than 5 million citations to book reviews from thousands of publications.
  • Google Scholar
    Lists journal articles, books, book reviews, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Some listings include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item. Includes content from free resources (such as ArXiv.org and university websites) as well as subscription resources (such as electronic journals from selected publishers). Use the UC-eLinks option, when available, to find the UCB access to a publication.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present
  • IBR Online - Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen
    Indexes over 830,000 book reviews with subject listings in German and English.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Dissertations and Theses

Find dissertations by searching Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT), which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

For more extensive indexing of doctoral dissertations and theses from Western Europe, here are a few other resources to consult:

Italian Libraries and Catalogs

Catalogs and guides to books, periodicals, and other materials in not only Italian libraries and archives but also other important collections worldwide.

Online Resources

  • Archive Finder (including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland)
    Directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
  • ArchiveGrid
    Searchable descriptions of nearly a million historical documents, personal papers, and family histories kept in libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Index Translationum
    Lists more than a million books in translation in over 400 languages of UNESCO Member States, on all subjects, published since 1979.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
    Lists 250,000 serials published worldwide covering all subjects.
  • WorldCat on FirstSearch
    Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. This is the original, subscription version of WorldCat - the world's largest network of library content and services. Also freely available at WorldCat.org or through Melvyl.

News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites

Listings (may include abstracts or full text) of articles in newspapers, newsmagazines, broadcast news transcripts or wire services. Also includes web sites of these media, or directories of such sites.

Online

Library Databases

  • Access World News
    Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Factiva
    Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
  • iCON Newspaper Database
    A database of more than 20,000 newspaper titles from over 150 countries dating back over 350 years. A useful source for identifying the titles of newspapers from a region during a given time period. (The source does not link to full text.)
  • Italian Language News and Newspapers
    A list of freely available Italian-language newspapers and news magazines. Compiled by the MIT Libraries.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes over 6,000 individual titles of international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters.
  • OnlineNewspapers.com
    Links to the online editions of over 10,000 newspapers -- international in scope.
  • Selected Western European News and Newspapers
    Lists links to selected major online newspapers in Western Europe. Areas covered are: General European information, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Scandinavia, Spain, and more.
Last Update: 29 Jul 13:07 | Tagged with: Italian Romance Languages Italian studies