Bopp, Mary S. Research in Dance: a Guide to Resources. New York: Maxell, 1994.
Doe and Moff Ref GV1594.A12.B67 1994
Bremser, Laura and Larraine Nicholas and Leanda Shrimpton. International dictionary of ballet. 2 vols. Detroit: St. James Press, 1993. Doe Reference Hall GV1585.I57 1993
Clarke, Mary and David Vaughan. The Encyclopedia of Dance & Ballet. New York: Putnam, 1977.
Doe Ref and Main GV1585.C55
Information on dance as a performing art in the 20th Century.
Craine, Debra and Judith Mackrell. The Oxford Dictionary of Dance. Oxford [England]; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Doe Ref and Moffitt Ref GV1585.C78 2000 Non-circulating
De Mille, Agnes. The Book of the Dance. New York, Golden Press, 1963.
Main GV1601 .D4
International Encyclopedia of Dance.
Doe Ref and Music GV1585.I586 1998 Main Stack GV1585.P74 1995
Covers classical ballet and modern dance with articles on dance development. Also available as an e-resource
Preston-Dunlap, Valerie Monthland. Dance Words. Chur, Switzerland: Harwood Academic, 1995. Main GV 1585.P74 1995
- Ballet Plot Index: a Guide to Locating Plots and Descriptions of Ballets and Associated Material. William E. Studwell and David A. Hamilton. New York, NY : Garland Pub., 1987.
Main Stack GV 1790 .A1 .S771 1987
Indexes over fifty books for plots, illustrations, criticism and other information about ballets.
- Dance: an Annotated Bibliography, 1965-1982. Fred R. Forbes, Jr. New York: Garland Pub., 1986.
Main Stack GV 1594 .A12 .F581 1986
Bibliography covering many areas of dance.
- Guide to Dance Periodicals.
Main Stack GV 1590 .A12 .G8
Library has: Bound 1(1931-1935), 3(1941)-10 (1962)
Author and subject indexes to several dance journals. UCB is restarting its subscription with 2002.
- Index to Dance Periodicals.
Main Stack GV 1594 .I53 Library has: BOUND 1994-1997
Prepared by the Dance Division of New York Public Library, this index covers current dance periodicals.
- The Anthropology of Dance: a Selected Bibliography. Judith Lynne Hanna. Richardson, Tex.: University of Texas, 1976.
Anthropology Library GV 1594 .A12 .H33 1976
- A Bibliography of Dancing; a List of Books and Articles on the Dance and Related Subjects. Paul David Magriel. New York, The H. W. Wilson company, 1936. Suppl. 1938
Main Stack GV 1581 .M3
Most useful for research in dance history. Good index.
- Bibliography of Treatises on the Dance to 1900.
Music Library MICROFILM AA2977
- Black Dance: an Annotated Bibliography. Alice J. Adamczyk. New York: Garland, 1989.
Doe Reference GV 1595 .A12 .A331 1989
Main Stack GV 1595 .A12 .A331 1989
Culled from the New York Public Library collections, this bibliography lists books, journals and periodicals and gives short annotations.
- The Music and Dance of the World's Religions : a Comprehensive, Annotated Bibliography of Materials in the English Language. E. Gardner Rust. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.
Music Library ML 128 .S17 .R87 1996
- Social Dancing in America: A History and Reference. Ralph G. Giordano. Westport: Greenwood Press, 2007. Main GV 1623.G56 2007
In addition to the resource listed below, see also Online Biographical resources and those paper resources available in the Doe Reference Collection and the Main Stacks.
Cohen-Stratyner, Barbara Naomi. Biographical Dictionary of Dance. New York: Schirmer Books; London: Collier Macmillan, 1982.
Doe Ref and Main GV1785.A1.C58 1982
Short sketches of nearly 2,900 people from Europe and the Americas over the last four centuries.