Slavic & East European Studies

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

Access to Oskicat, Melvyl, and information on UC Berkeley Library web pages is open to the public.  The iinstructions below are for UC Berkeley faculty, staff, students, and official affiliates for accessing licensed research materials.

Before you can access UCB Library resources from off campus or via your laptop or other mobile devices, make sure you have configured your machine using one of two simple methods (Proxy Server is the quickest and easiest):

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.  Make sure you check the proxy configuration before you start researching.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Find Dictionaries

Finding dictionaries in an on-line catalog requires knowing the standard Library of Congress subject headings for this kind of reference tool.There are several subject heading formats which lead to general language dictionaries and dictionaries of terms about a particular discipline.


To find general dictionaries use the following subject format:


[language name]--Dictionaries.
Example: Estonian language--Dictionaries.


To find dictionaries that translate from one language to another:

[language name]--Dictionaries--[language name]
Example: Polish language--Dictionaries--English language.

To find dictionaries on a particular subject in a foreign language:


[discipline name]--Dictionaries--[language name]
Example: Computer Science--Dictionaries--Ukrainian language.

For those of you in need of online dictionaries for Russian, two useful sites are Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (UCB Only) and Multitran.

Find Dissertations

Find Dissertations by searching Digital Dissertations, which indexes over 1.5 million dissertations completed in North American (including UC) and European universities from 1861 to the present. Listings after 1980 include abstracts, and some feature 24-page excerpts. Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources, and dissertations completed at a UC campus can also be found in Library catalogs, which have limit to dissertations/theses search options:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Full-text Access: Online full-text of UC dissertations (from 1996) can be found by searching Digital Dissertations and also appear in Library catalog search results. UC Berkeley dissertations in print prior to 1996 may be found by searching the Library catalogs. Dissertations done at other UC campuses prior to 1996 or outside the UC system must be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

The Russian State Library has created a catalog of Russian Disserations and Abstracts at http://diss.rsl.ru/?menu=disscatalog/. Some of the dissertations appear to be freely available in digital form.

Find Encyclopedias

Finding encyclopedias in an on-line catalog requires knowing the standard Library of Congress subject headings for this kind of reference tool. There are several subject heading formats which lead to general encyclopedies in a foreign language and encylopedias about a particular subject.

To find general encyclopedias in a foreign language use the following subject
format:

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries – [language].
Example: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries – Estonian.


To find encyclopedias on a particular subject:

[subject]—Encyclopedias. [or in some cases]
[subject]—Dictionaries.
Example: Russian Literature--Dictionaries

Last Update: 02 Aug 13:26 | Tagged with: Slavic Eastern Europe Russia Soviet Union