English and American Literature

Organizations

Organizations

Listings of subject-related associations, learned societies, or professional organizations.

Modern Language Association

Modern Humanities Research Association

Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing 

 

Poetry

Australian Poetry Library     Tens of thousands of poems by Australian poets freely available. Gives biographical information.  Can look at poems grouped by type such as wedding or bereavement poems or by poetic form.

Naropa Poetics Archive
Over 5,000 hours of recordings of readings, lectures, performances, conferences and seminars held at Naropa University. Includes significant information about the Beats and avant-garde poetry from the United States.  Hosted by the Internet Archive.

PennSound   Wide selection of contemporary poetry reading and discussing poetry.

Poet Laureate's Site at the Library of Congress

Poetry Archive    Founded in 1999 by poet Andrew Motion and record producer Richard Carrington, this Web site streams recordings of English-language poets reading their own work; poets range from Robert Browning to the contemporary.   Can be search or browsed by poet, title, theme or form.

Poetry Foundation
Poetry, criticism, news, biographical information, podcasts, videos, recordings presented by the foundation that publishes Poetry.

Poetry International Web
Poems, essays, discussion, biographical information from poets around the world both in the original language and in English translation.  Many video clips of readings.

Poetry Portal
A gateway to all sorts of information about poetry such as explanations of poetry terms and concepts, events, publishing, competitions, book news.

Poetry Translation Centre
Translations of established poets from Africa, Asia and Latin America.

Poetry Society of America
The PSA, founded in 1910, is the oldest poetry society in the U.S.  The Resources section features useful lists/links to poetry, events, contests, publishers, journals, and articles.

Poets.org
Founded in 1934, the Academy of American Poets works "to support American poets at all stages of their careers and to foster the appreciation of contemporary poetry."  Their site is particularly rich and deserves careful exploration.  The Poets & Poetry section has links to information about poets, audio and video clips, podcasts, poems for all occasions, essays, and reading recommendations.  Also useful is the National Poetry Map with its listing of poets; poems; literary organizations, journals and presses; bookstores; readings and other poetry events.  The For Educators section has such helpful information as tips about which poems to teach, essays on the teaching of poetry and a discussion forum.

Silliman's Blog: a weblog focused on contemporary poetry and poetics. Poet Ron Silliman's long running blog is filled with comments, film, and all sorts of information about contemporary poetry and poets.

Gateways

Broad, subject-related sites and subject-specific search engines available without restriction on the Web.

Literatures in English (Library of Congress)
An extensive annotated guide to reference websites on literatures written in English including directories, full-text sites, criticism, prizes, poetry and drama and a separate listing of country-specific resources for the U. S., Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

Literature Links, British Council
Many links to publishing, publishing, periodicals, poetry, prizes and other information.

Labyrinth Library
A good web resources for medievalists; it's the product of an international collaborative project.

NetSERF, the Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
Information about all areas of medieval life.

New Chaucer Society
The Society aims to "provide a forum for teachers and scholars of  Geoffrey Chaucer and his age." The website supports that aim, and one does not have to be a member to have access.  Of primary interest to nonmembers are the sections Links to Chaucer Resources, which has links to many other sites,  and Chaucer Bibliography Online, which includes materials from the Annotated Chaucer Bibliography published annually in Studies in the Age of Chaucer, though a July 2011 search for “wife of bath” brought up nothing more recent than 2007.  

Geoffrey Chaucer
Created for use by Chaucer students at Harvard, this site gives an impressive overview of Chaucer and his times. It includes glossed texts, critical articles, and a bibliography.  A truly useful site for the study of the period.

ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance (UCB only)
Our subscription gives us access to the massive Iter Bibliography which is drawn from more than a thousand medieval and Renaissance journal titles and covers the European Middle Ages and Renaissance,  400-1700. 

The English Renaissance in Context
A collection of tutorials and texts prepared with a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.  The texts come from the Furness Shakespeare Library at the University of Pennsylvania and include many early editions of Shakespeare as well as the writings of other authors.  The multimedia tutorials, 4 on Shakesapearian plays and 4 on topics such as Editing and Unediting, are useful.

Shakespeare's Staging: Shakespeare's Performance and His Globe Theatre
Created by Hugh Richmond, distinguished scholar, this site concentrates on Shakespeare in performance. Currently the site has two main sections; Performance Bibliography gives written responses to staging of Shakespeare, and the Performance Gallery, a visual outline of approaches to staging Shakespeare. The site also has links to other websites about the performance of Shakespeare.

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
The site is no longer being updated but still has useful context and links.

Treasures in Full
The British Library has created digital images of various editions of Shakespeare plays published in quarto, Caxton's Chaucer,  and  Malory's Arthurian manuscript. Users can compare different editions side-by-side and read supporting articles by Library curators and others. 

British Cartoon Archive    
Searchable online archive of over 150,000 editorial, social-political and pocket cartoons published in the British press and dating back to the 1790s. 

Victorian Web
Woven by George Landow at Brown, this is an example of what an intelligently done web site can be. Useful for many aspects of Victorian life.

Victorian Research Web    Helpful for anyone doing research on Victorian Britain. 

British Literary Annuals and Giftbooks   Extends the indexing of the poetry and prose found in annuals and giftbooks begun by Andrew Boyle's Index to the Annuals (Z2013 .B65 in NRLF). 

NINES: Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online
The Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Scholarship (NINES) is a scholarly organization “devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first.” NINES serves a peer review for digital works, develops software tools, and supports scholars in their creation of digital research.

The Literary Gothic
This site is a "Web guide to all things concerned with literary Gothicism, which includes ghost stories, "classic" Gothic novels and Gothic fiction (1764-1820), and related pre- and post-Gothic and supernaturalist literature written prior to the mid-C20. Its target audience is all students and fans of the Gothic, regardless of age, academic level, profession, or just about anything else."  There are many links to Web sites about individual authors, many primary texts, essays and book reviews, and links to related sites.

Antislavery Literature Project    Links to texts produced by various elements of the antislavery movement in the United States.

Anglistik Guide at the State and University Library Göttingen                                        A subject gateway to Anglo-American language and literature.  Offers a variety of ways to find resources including simple and advanced searches and browsing by categories.  Extensive list of author-related sites.                                                           

PAL: Perspectives in American Literature--A Research and Reference Guide--An Ongoing Project
Created by Paul P. Reuben, Emeritus English Professor at California State University, Stanislaus, this site is a rich resource for tracking down information about trends in American literature and American authors.  The site is easy to navigate from the home page and can also be searched. Author entries may have a photo or brief biographical information, a list of primary works (with links to online editions when available), a selected bibliography, and suggested study questions.

Library of Southern Literature
Part of the University of North Carolina University Library's Documenting the American South, this site contains many literary works published before 1924.  The texts can be browsed by subject, author, title or location.

Storytellers: Native American Authors Online
Alphabetical and tribal listing of modern poets and novelists with links to websites designed with the collaboration and cooperation of the authors.  Some biographies, lists of older authors with links to electronic versions of their work when available.  Links to sites about Native American storytelling and to sites of interest to writers and readers.  No longer updated but still useful.

Fictionmags Index   Truly a labor of love by a group of people who love to index the short stories in an impressive number of 19th-21st Century periodicals.  To find an author, look here.  To see what periodicals have been indexed, look here.  The site offers a variety of other ways to search.

Literature, Arts and Medicine Database    An annotated database covering works of literature, the performing arts, and art that relate to the experience of illness and intended to foster teaching and scholarship in the medical humaniaties. 

Paris Review Author Interviews 
Online database of Paris Review interviews of authors in its Art of Fiction, Art of Poetry, Art of Journalism, Art of Theater, and Art of Comics series. The first interview was of E. M. Forster in 1953 and includes such writers as Kurt Vonnegut, Arthur Miller, Ernest Hemingway, Ray Bradbury, A. S. Byatt, Billy Collins, Joan Didion, Ha Jin, Chinua Achebe and many others.

Reading: Harvard Views of Readers, Readership, and Reading History
Online collection of books and manuscripts on learning to read (textbooks, missions to Native Americans, science of reading), reading collectively (choosing, books, book clubs, libraries), and reading on one’s own (commonplace books, marginalia). Highlights include Wordsworth’s list of books in his library, commonplace books of Joseph Conrad and Victor Hugo, and Harvard Library records showing the books used by Emerson, Longfellow and Thoreau.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
Hal W. Hal's creation, this database indexes writing about science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural and weird fiction. History, criticism, commentary, fan writings and a few reviews are all included.  It combines Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1878-1985, Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1985-1991, and Science Fiction and Fantasy Reference Index 1992-1995  and is updated with recent materials. The quick search allows simple searches in a single category:  author, title, imprint, or subject.  The advanced search allows searching of two or more categories or fields, using Boolean operators as connectors.  Hall includes a list of magazines regularly indexed and a thesaurus of terms.

 

Last Update: 15 Sep 14:21