Economics

General Sources and Journals

The intent of this guide is to provide an introduction to the major sources of information, organizations, reference works, search engines, and journals in economics, generally and by sub-discipline. In addition to general resources there are categories for Development Economics, Economic History, Environmental Economics, Finance, International Economics, and Labor Economics (more forthcoming).

The major economics organization in the United States is the American Economic Association (AEA) which publishes the American Economic Review, The Journal of Economic Perspectives, and the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL). JEL uses a detailed classification scheme which forms the basis of the major index to the economics literature, Econlit. They also publish a guide to internet sources in economics called Resources for Economists on the Internet.

Highly Cited Journals

This list is adapted from lists of journals compiled by IDEAS which ranks journals by simple, recursive, discounted, recursive discounted, "h-index" and aggregate (used here) factors. This list is not intended to be comprehensive or authoritative.

Quarterly Journal of Economics
Journal of Political Economy
Econometrica
American Economic Review
Journal of Economic Literature
Journal of Economic Growth
Review of Economic Studies
Journal of Finance 
Journal of Monetary Economics
Journal of Labor Economics
Journal of Economic Perspectives 

Read more

Development Economics

For more information on please see the library subject guide on International Organizations Economic Development & Poverty as well as the section on development, inequality and investment in the statistics and numeric data section of this guide.

Organizations, Search Engines and Reference Sources

AgEcon Search. Free open access repository of scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, from the Univertsity of Minnesota.
Agricola . US Deparment of Agriculture Online Library. Indexes books, journal articles and government publications including but not limited to agricultural economics.
FAO Document Depository. Online depository of Food & Agricultural Organization of the UN (FAO) documents and publications as well as selected non-FAO publications.
Directory of Economic, Commodity and Development Organizations (IMF). Brief guide to regional and inter-governmental commodity and development organizations
Giannini Foundation Library of Agricultural Economics. UC Berkeley Library Giannini Foundation Library specializing in Agricultural economics. 
Handbook of Development Economics. Key reference volume in the field, edited by Dani Rodrik and T.N. Srinivasan.
Human Development Report Library.  Summaries of development conditions from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) for countries around the world.
Least Developed Countries Report.  Annual publication on the world's Least Developed Countries, from the UN Conference on Trade & Development (UNCTAD). 
Rural Poverty Portal. Rural povery information portal, from the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) a UN Specialized Agency. 
USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse. Online resource for USAID funded project  documentation. Browsable by country and sector..
World Bank E-library. Subscription based online library of World Bank publications from the 1990's.  The e-library is better organized than the general World Bank site. 
World Bank Projects and Evaluations. Portal of World Bank projects and operations.  See also the World Bank Documents and Reports for better searchability. 
World Development Report. World Bank flagship publications, summarzing the annual state of world development. 

Selected Journals...

Read more

Economic History

Please see also the section on ecojomic history in the statistics section of this guide.

Organizations, Search Engines and Reference Sources

America History & Life. Books and articles in history, including economic history for the United States Canada and Mexico.
Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics. Reprints of articles and books from Cowles foundation faculty at Yale University, from 1943 to present.
Economic History Association (EH Net). Economics professional association promoting teaching, research, and publications in economic history.
Economist Historical Archive. Complete searchable copy of the Economist since it was first published in 1843 through 2007.  
Financial Times Historical Archive.Complete run of the daily Financial Times from the first issue in 1888 through 2006.
Global Financial Data (GFD). Extremely long runs of historical data on U.S. stock prices and macroeconomic data for the U.S. and foreign countries.
Goldsmith's Kress Library of Economic Literature. Digital collection of books from 1460-1850 and pre-1906 journals on economics, political science, history, and banking.
Historical Abstracts. Chief Hhstorical database for books and articles on all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to present. 
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS). Statistics and quantitative facts on US history from the US government going back to 1790.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers. Comprehensive database of British Parliemantary papers and debates from the 18th century to 2004.
League of Nations Statistical Yearbooks. Digitized collection of League of Nations statistical yearbooks from Northwestern University.
NBER Macrohistory Database. Data covering all aspects of the pre-WWI and interwar economic sectors predominantly in the United States with some data from Europe.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History. International encyclopedia of economic history (scholars from 35 countries) covering all time periods.

Selected Journals....

Read more

Environmental Economics

Organizations, Search Engines and Reference Sources 

Agricola
--Lists the holdings in the National Agricultural Library as well as indexing journals, books and government publications in agriculture and related fields.
Agricultural Statistics
--From USDA, National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS). Online version of the annual publication, Agricultural Statistics 1994.
Annual Review in Resource Economics
.
ARE Papers in eScholarship
--Working papers from the UC Berkeley Agricultural and Resource Economics department
CAB Abstracts--Indexes the international agricultural literature. Covers topics such as biodiversity, biotechnology, environmental pollution, natural resources, forestry, and environmental policy.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM)--Indexes scholarly content in the environmental sciences including ecology, agricultural biotechnology, energy, climate, pollution, and water resources.
Giannini Foundation Library.  Access to high quality information in Agricultural, Resource and Environmental Economics to support the research activities of Giannini Foundation members at the University of California.
Global Agricultural Trade System (GATS) -- U.S. foreign agricultural trade data(from the USDA’s Foreign Agricultural Service. GATS includes international agricultural, fish, forest and textile products trade statistics from 1989 to present.
Handbook of Environmental Economics.

Selected Journals...

Read more

Finance

Please see also the section on financial data in the statistics and numeric data section of this guide, as well as the section on financial market data at the Long Business Library.

Organizations, Search Engines and Reference Sources


American Finance Association
. Academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics.
Business Source Complete
. Premier business and industry database with 1,100 peer-reviewed business publication. See also the Business Source Complete tutorial.
CCH Capital Changes. Complete capital change histories for corporations, including stock dividends, stock splits, reverse stock splits, etc.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
. In-depth, lengthy reports on macroeconomic, financial, and political conditions in over 200 countries.
Factiva
. News and information in 22 languages, including The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and Dow Jones and Reuters newswires.
Mergent Online
. Public company financials and SEC documents. Income statements, balance sheets, and cash flows. Includes historic Moody's Manuals.
Palgrave Connect Economics and Finance Collection
. E-Books in economics and finance from Palgrave, one of the main economics and finance trade publishers.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
. Reports on industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts.
ThomsonOne
. Public company financials and analysis as well as venture capital firm, fund, and portfolio information. Includes access to Investext (works best with IE).
Value Line Research Center
. Investment research with data, analysis and commentary on stocks, mutual funds, options and other securities. UCB has access to most surveys, see the Long Business Library guide for details.

Selected Journals...

Read more

International Economics

For more information see the UC Berkeley government information guide to International Trade and Financial Institutions  and the sections on international macroeconomics and international trade in the statistics and numeric data section of this guide.

Organizations,
Search Engines and Reference Sources

Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements and Exchange Restrictions.  Database of exchange and trade arrangements for all IMF member countries.
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles
. Analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environments in countries worldwide.
Glossary of International Economics
. By Alan V. Deardorff, Professor of International Economics at the University of Michigan.
International Monetary Fund. Publications site includes working papers occasional papers and the World Economic Outlook.
ISI Emerging Markets.  Information and data on emerging markets in Asia, Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe. 
OECD iLibrary
. Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
. Indexes information related to public policy, politics, economics, and international affairs.
Peterson Institute for International Economics
. Nonpartisan think tank focused on international economics based in Washington, D.C.
PolicyFile
. Index to public policy information taken from think tanks, NGOs, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
. Internationl economics encyclopedia  covering international trade, finance, economic development, etc.
Researching International Economic Law. Guide to International economic law sources from Georgetown University.
Routledge Politics and International Relations Online.  Collection of reference books on international organizations, political economy and many other topics.
World Bank e-Library. Full text collection of World Bank books, journals, and working papers from the mid 1990's to present.
World Trade Organization. Documents and publications portal of the WTO: see especially the section on trade policy reviews, dispute settlements and legal texts.

Selected Journals...

Read more

Labor Economics

For more information on this topic please see the UCB Government Information page on International Organizations & Labour as well as the section on Demography and Labor in the statistics and numeric data section of this guide.

Organizations,
Search Engines and Reference Sources

Center for Labor Economics. UC Berkeley center promoting research in labor market issues and policies.
Handbook of Labor Economics. Key reference handbook in labor economics, edited by Orley Ashenfelter and Richard Layard.
Institute for Research on Labor and Employment
. Institute at UC Berkeley supporting multidisiciplinary research on labor and employment relations.
Labordoc. International Labour Organization (ILO) database on work, sustainable livelihoods, and work-related aspects of development, human rights & technology.
Key Indicators of the Labour Market
.  Collection of 18 key indicators of the labour market published biannually by the ILO.
Labor Economists Gateway
.  Links to labor economists' web sites, research centers, institutes, statistics and datasets, journals, e-books, documents, and working papers.
Labor and Employment Law Library (BNA)
. Resource for cases and legal news in all areas of labor, employment, collective bargaining, and labor arbitration.
Labor History Materials in the UC Berkeley Library. Guide to selected collections in labor history and organized labor at the UC Berkeley libraries.
NBER Labor Studies Program
. NBER program studying issues of employment, compensation, determinants of unemployment, effects of labor unions, and benefits.
Society of Labor Economists
. Primary academic association of U.S. labor economists, publisher of the Journal of Labor Economics.
Working Women, 1800-1930. Digitized manuscript and image collections exploring women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

Selected Journals...

Read more
Last Update: 30 Sep 21:17