Economics

Statistics & Numeric Data in Economics

This page lists selected sources of economic statistics and numeric data that are licensed by the UC Berkeley libraries and available freely on the web. The content on the page is broken down by category:  Data Visualization,  United States/Regional MacroeconomicInternational Macroeconomic, Business & Industry, Demography & Labor, Development, Inequality & Investment, Economic History, Environmental Economics, Financial Data, International Trade, and Microdata.     

Data Lab

Data LabThe Data Lab, located in Doe Annex 189 (floor plan), provides access to a growing collection of electronic data files and analytical software such as MS Excel, SAS, SPSS, Stata, and DataFerret. Data Lab staff can help you locate, retrieve, and use computer-readable, numeric data. Check their hours page for more information. 

The Data Lab has also created a Google Custom Search that targets 800+ academic, government agency, non-profit, and other web sites that provide high quality, downloadable statistical information and data sets. Emphasis is on data pertaining to the social sciences, health, developing countries, energy, natural resources, and the environment.

Google Custom Search

Economic Data Visualization

Datamasher. Mashups of government data about states. Helps citizens see how states compare on important issues. Users can combine different data sets in interesting ways and create custom rankings by state.

Census CD neighborhood change database. (Geolytics). Contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries consistently defined across census years.

Gapminder. Non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. Access and cross-tabulate 200 statistical time series.  See espcially Gapminder World and this video from co-founder Hans Rosling's 200 Countries, 200 Years, 4 Minutes.

Google Public Data Explorer.  Makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize and communicate. Includes visualizations for data from the World Bank, OECD, Eurostat, the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and more.

Many Eyes
. Enables users to upload data for visualization and employ tools to generate interactive displays. Includes thousands of user-generated and public domain data visualizations (not all of which are reliable). From IBM.

National Historical Geographic Information System, Contains aggregare U.S. census data and GIS boundary files for each census from 1790 to 2000.

OECD Factbook eXplorer
. interactive tool for analysing the OECD country statistical
profiles for a variety of major economic, social and environmental indicators.

PolicyMap. US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels: data on demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate, income, jobs, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.

SimplyMap
. Requires user registration. Enables non-technical users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and other data.

Social Explorer. Current and historical census data and other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze and  demographic and social change

United States/Regional Macroeconomic

County Business Patterns.   Subnational economic data by industry, useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time.  Also available from the National Historical Geographic Information System.

CPS Utilities.  (CD in Library Data Lab). Data, documentation, and extraction software for the Current Population Surveys. Includes all January, February, March, May, June, October, November surveys containing data from as early as 1962.

Data Planet
. Provides access to data points from licensed and public domain datasets from local, state and international governments and organizations.

Economic Census.  Provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy every five years  about business establishment statistics: number of establishments, sales, receipts, revenue, payroll, and employees at the city, county, state and national levels.  See also the guide to the history of the economic census see the Princeton University Guide to the Economic Census from the Pliny Fisk Library of Economics and Finance.

Economic Indicators
. Monthly compilation prepared by the Council of Economic Advisors providing economic data on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money and Federal finance.

Economic Report of the President. A
nnual report overviewing the United State's economic progress. Extremely useful historic tables on the major indicators of the US Economy.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED).
Portal for U.S. economic time series data from the St. Louis Federal Reserve. See also Fraser,  scanned images of U.S. historical economic statistical publications and other documents.

Global Insight
.  U.S. and International financial, economic and industry information. While a monthly frequency option appears, only quarterly and annual data are available. Access only for UCB faculty & grad students via Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) - see complete WRDS entry below for more information.

Historical Statistics of the United States
.  Coverage begins with the colonial and pre-Federal period and goes up to 2000.  Excellent source of information for studying U.S. history, economics, politics, and other topics.

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER Data
. The NBER links and/or hosts several datasets of interest, including Official Busines Cycle Rates, New Economic Releases, the NBER Macrohistory Database and many more.  The site also serves as a gateway to frequently used datasets by academics and governments.

Statistical Abstract of the United States. Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States as well as selected international data. The Abstract is useful both as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information, in print and on the Web. Earlier versions of the Statistical Abstract from 1878 to 2012 are available on the U.S Census Bureau's web site. In 2013 publication of the government version was discontinued, and taken up by the commercial vendor Proquest.

Read more

International Macroeconomic

See also the library research guide on International Statistics.

African Development Indicators. From the World Bank. Detailed data on Africa covering 53 African countries from 1961 to present. Includes data on social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.

Asian Development Bank Statistical Database System. Statistical Data from the Asian Development Bank (query at the top of the page).

Banks' Cross-National Time-Series
. Statistical information on a range of countries, with data entries ranging from 1815 to the present. It offers a comprehensive extent of variables and country facts.  Available on workstation 1 in the Doe Library Data Lab.

CEIC Global. Database of over 400,000 time series covering a growing list of countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Data items include: National Accounts, Industrial, Sales, Construction-Property, Demographic-Labor, Domestic and Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

China Data Online
. Monthly and annual macroeconomic statistics, city and county data, industrial sector data, and census updates for China. Click "direct access for institutional users."

Data Planet. Provides access to data points from licensed and public domain datasets from local, state and international governments and organizations.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles.  Annual and quarterly analysis of the political and economic situation for more than 180 countries, from 1996 to present.

Eurostat. Publications and statistics from the EU, with data in economics, population, agriculture, trade, transportation, the envornment and much more.


Global Financial Data (GFD). Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) and macroeconomic trends for over 150 countries: financials, interest rates, exchange rates and more.  Includes online encyclopedias that describe each dataset.

Indiastat. Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas. Data is derived from documents, reports from the states and national government of India.  Note: userid and password required. Please inquire at any Library Reference Desk for assistance.

International Financial Statistics (IFS
)
. From the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Includes data on exchange and interest rates, balance of payments, government finance, national accounts, prices, foreign reserves, and more.  Recommended: use the economic concept view.

Official Statistics on the Web. Access to social, economic and general data from official government sources.  Includes statistical offices, central banks and government agencies. Features a good subject list.

OECD iLibrary. Data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes data on economics and finance, trade, telecommunications, development, foreign aid, migration, and other categories.

UN Data. From the United Nations. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

World Bank Data Catalog. Comprehensive catalog of freely available international economic, financial, and socio-economic data sets from the World Bank. Among the most useful of the many datasets offered is World Development Indicators featuring time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

Read more

Business and Industry

Business Monitor Online (BMO). Data and analysis for a variety of industries: Agribusiness, Autos, Commercial Banking, Consumer Electronics, Defense & Security, Food & Drink, Freight Transport, Information Technology, Infrastructure, Water, Insurance, Metals, Mining, Oil & Gas, Petrochemicals, Power, Real Estate, Retail, Shipping, Telecommunications, and Tourism. Coverage includes the U.S. and 50+ foreign countries.

CEIC Global. Database of over 400,000 time series covering countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Data items include: National Accounts, Industrial, Sales, Construction-Property, Demographic-Labor, Domestic and Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

County Business Patterns
. Subnational economic data by industry, useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time. Also available from the National Historical Geographic Information System.

Economic Census
. Provides a detailed portrait of the United States' economy every five years about business establishment statistics: number of establishments, sales, receipts, revenue, payroll, and employees at the city, county, state and national levels. See also the guide to the history of the economic census see the Princeton University Guide to the Economic Census from the Pliny Fisk Library of Economics and Finance.

Ibisworld
. Excellent database for industry-based research. Includes three sections for the United States, China, and global based industry reports.  Industry data is available in the United States by NAICS code.

OECDiLibrary
. Large selection of data on many topics from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD).  See especially the Industry section under OECDStat (Statistical Data) which includes industry and services data (sales, orders, work and production); the STAN database (bilateral trade by industry and end-use) and the sections on Information Communcations and Technology and Transport.

Standard and Poors Net Advantage
. Reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts.

United Nations Industrial Statistics Database
. CD ROM located at Doe Library reference desk. From the United Nations Indfustrial Development Organization (UNIDO).  Contains global data for the number of establishments and employees, wages and salaries, output. value added, gross fixed capital formation, and number of female employees by country. Data organzed by the United Nations International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC) of all economic activities.

United Nations Industrial Commodity Production Statistics Dataset, 1950-2003
.  CD ROM Databset of industrial commodity production statistics from 1950-2003, measured as production sold of each commodity within each country or territory. The data include the production of industrial establishments for which the commodity is a primary product.

Demography & Labor

Census Neighborhood Change Database (CD in library data lab. Contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years.

CPS Utilities.  (CD in Library Data Lab). Data, documentation, and extraction software for the Current Population Surveys. Includes all January, February, March, May, June, October, November surveys containing data from as early as 1962.

Demographic Yearbook System. United Nations statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce and more.

Foreign Labor Statistics. Labour statistics derived from the foreign countries, the International Labour Office (ILO), Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), and the EU. From the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Health Nutrition and Population Statistics. Health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from international sources. Themes include population dynamics, nutrition, reproductive health, health financing, medical resources and usage, immunization, infectious diseases, HIV/AIDS , population projections and lending. From the World Bank.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Micro-data for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations. 

National Historical Geographic Information System, Contains aggregare U.S. census data and GIS boundary files for each census from 1790 to 2000.

International Data Base. From the U.S. Census Bureau. Statistics for demographic, and socioeconomic data for countries and areas of the world. Information dates back from 1950 and as far ahead as 2050.

LABORSTA. International labor statistics from 1979 to the present on employment, earnings, wages, migration, strikes and more.

Occupational Wages Around the World (OWW). Wages data derived by the NBER from the ILO Laborsta database. Data requires advanced statistical application software.

Penn World Tables. Freely available data on population, national income accounts and prices, from 1950.

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics.  Data on inflation and prices, unemployment and productivity. Includes the Current Population Survey conducted by the BLS and the Census Bureau providing data on the economic status and activities of the population. See also the Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) version of the CPS

United States Census Bureau
.  The principal source of periodic U.S demographic data. Major programs include the Census of Population and Housing available via American Factfinder and the American Communiyt Survey.

UN Data
. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators for most countries and territories of the world.

World Development Indicators. Primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. Presents current and accurate global development data, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

World Population Prospects 2010 Revision.  Detailed population data from the United Nations Population Division, for countries worldwide, from 1950 with projections to 2050. 

Development, Inequality & Investment

See also the section on microdata below for additional sources.

Africa Development Indicator
s.  Detailed collection of data on Africa, containing over 1,600 indicators, covering 53 African countries from 1961 to 2008. Data include social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, and environmental indicators.

AID Data. Microlevel aid data from a civil society organization billed as "open data for international development.  Includes a compilation of research data sets from around the world, articles on aid data from peer reviewed journals, and "aid data raw" which allows researchers to subset aid data by donor, recipient, and purpose for multiple years.  Includes data visualization tools and geocoded data sets.  

Balance of Payments Statistics. Balance of payments and international investment position data of individual countries and regions for major components of the balance of payments, updated monthly, from 1967 to the present. Useful for data on foreign direct investment.

Devinfo. Database system endorsed by the United Nations Development Group to facilitate data sharing acrosss multiple UN agencies and countries. Includes data categories on child protection, gender, migration, housing, censuses, and multiple countries around the world. 

FAOSTAT
. Extensive data on agriculture, food supply, food security, prices, commodities, forest products, and fisheries from the FAO.

Global Development Finance. Statistical data for countries reporting public debt to the World Bank. Includes external debt stocks and flows and key debt ratios as well as average terms of new commitments, currency composition of long-term debt, debt restructuring, and debt service projections, from 1960 to present.

International Food Policy Research Instute (IFPRI). Data on a varierty of agricultural and resource topcs, including  hunger and poverty, social capital, livestock and more.  Also on the datavsersenetwork

Human Development Report Statistics. Statistics from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Links to the text of national human development reports from over 250 countries and regions..

OECD iLibrary
. Leading International Organization for Foreign Aid data. Includes International Development Statistics as well as statistical databases on External Debt Statistics and Geographical Distribution of Financial Aid Flows to Developing Countries. Choose the "international development" link on the statistics section.

UNCTADStat
. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. See also the World Investment Directory, which offers FDI data by country.

UN Data
. Wide range of economic, social, cultural, and demographic indicators: population, environment, health, economics, technology, trade, refugees, and more.

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis. International Investment Position. Detailed data on foreign direct investment involving the United States.

U.S. Overseas Loans and Grants
(Green Book). Loans and grants from the US government each fiscal year by purpose and country.

World Development Indicators
. Time series data from 1960 for 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment and much more.

World Income Inequality Database. Information for over 140 countries on income inequalities at both cross-country and time series levels over the period 1950-98, with a focus on the period since 1980. See also the University of Texas Income Inequality Project.

World's Top Income Database.  Top income share time series over the long-run for more than twenty countries to date, primarily from countries in Europe, North America and Developed Asia.    

Read more

Economic History

Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data (ALFRED). "Economic data time travel" from the St. Louis Federal Reserve. Includes data on Money, Banking, & Finance, National Accounts, Population, Employment, & Labor Markets, Production & Business Activity, Prices, and an amazing section on International Data.

Banks' Cross-National Time-Series
. Statistical information on a range of countries, with data entries ranging from 1815 to the present. It offers a comprehensive extent of variables and country facts.  Available on workstation 1 in the Doe Library Data Lab.

EHNet Databases. Wide range of historical data sets from the Economic History Association: global financial data, wages, bond trading, early securities prices, developing country exports, historical labor statistics, and much more.   See especially the Historical Labor Statistics Project (HLSP).

European State Finance Database.  International collaborative research project for the collection, archiving and dissemination of data on European fiscal history across the medieval, early modern and modern periods.

Fraser. Economic history data from the Federal Reserve with scanned U.S. historical economic statistical publications and other documents. Includes historical runs of the Economic Report of the President, banking and monetary statistics, the Budget of the US Government, Statisics on Income, the Survey of Current Business, employment and payrolls, and much more.

Global Financial Data. Extremely long runs of historical data on U.S. stock prices and macroeconomic data for the U.S. and foreign countries. Subscription includes the full service and these sub-sets: Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday.

Global Commodity Database
.  By Robert Allen, Oxford University and Richard Unger, UBC. Includes clickable maps. Data lists can be viewed by geographic market, currency, and commodity, and can be queried. Data is from approximately 1260 to 1914. Most data is from Europe but selected data also from South Asia, East Asia, and the Americas.

Global Price and Income History Group
. Prices, wages, income, and measures of economic well-being for countries and cities around the world before 1950.   Focuses primarily on the middle ages. Data is sporadic but this is an astonishing source. Hosted at the University of California Davis.

Historical Annual Reports. Includes over 800 companies' annual reports available as searchable pdf images. Includes financial data, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, and more, from 1844 to present.

Historical Statistics of the United States.  Coverage begins with the colonial and pre-Federal period and goes up to 2000.  Excellent source of information for studying U.S. history, economics, politics, and other topics.

International Historical Statistics. Africa, Asia and Oceania, 1750-2005. B.R. Mitchell. Key economic and social indicators for Africa Asia and Oceania from 1750. Print volumes shelved in Government Reference, Doe Library HA4675 .M55 2007.   

International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000. B.R. Mitchell. Key economic and social indicators for the Americas from 1750. Print volume shelved in Government Reference, Doe library HA175 .M55 2003.   

International Historical Statistics. Europe, 1750-2005. B.R. Mitchell. Key economic and social indicators for European countries from 1750.  Print volume shelved in Government Reference, Doe Library HA1107 .M5 2007.

IMF eLibrary. Includes data on exchange and interest rates, balance of payments, government finance, national accounts, aggregate trade, prices, foreign reserves, and more. From the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Selected data monthly or quarterly from 1946 to present.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Micro-data for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations.  See also the National Historical Geographic Information System, containing tabular U.S. census data and GIS boundary files from 1790 to 2000.

League of Nations Statistical Yearbooks. From Northwestern University. Digital League of Nations statistical yearbooks from 1926-1944.  Includes data on population, commerce, public finance, currency, production, prices and more. 

Montevideo Oxford Latin American Economic History Database.  Statistical series for a range of economic and social indicators covering countries in Latin America for the twentieth century and beyond. Includes data on population, labour force, selected industries, transport and communication, external trade, finance, national accounts, and commodity prices indices.

NBER Macroeconomic History Data. Covers all aspects of the pre-WWI and interwar economies, including production, construction, employment, money, prices, foreign trade, and government activity. Many series are at the monthly or quarterly frequency. Some coverage of the United Kingdom, France and Germany, although it predominantly covers the United States.

This Time is Different. Statistical data from the bestselling book on financial crises by Kenneth Rogoff and Carmen Reinhart.  Includes data on exchange rates, bond issuances, inflation, debt to GDP ratios, banking crises dates, and other financial crises indicators. Doe Library has a copy of the book in the Doe Library reference collection

United Nations Statistical Yearbook.
 Print copies in Main Library, current edition in Government reference JX1977.A369 S74. International country data covering the areas of population, labor supply, agriculture, forestry, construction, consumption, transporation, education and trade from 1946. The digitial version UN Data does not contain as many indicators.

University of Virginia Historical Census Browser
. Easy to use tabular presentations of US Historical Census data from 1790 to 1860.  The original source of the data is the decennial census conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau. Data originally compiled by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).

Statistical Abstracts of the United States
. The data book of the United States. This is the best place to start if you are not sure where to begin.  Provides summary statistics of data collected by every US agency with source notes for sources leading to more detailed publications. The Census Bureau site has volumes from 1901-present.  The St. Louis Federal Reserve has volumes from 1878 to 1949 via the FRASER database.

Total Economy Database
.  From the Conference Board. Annual data covering GDP, population, employment, hours, labor quality, capital services, labor productivity, and total factor productivity for over 120 countries in the world.

The World Economy.  Online version of two famous works by Angus Maddison: The World Economy: A Millennial Perspective and The World Economy: Historical Statistics. The two volumes bring together estimates of world GDP for the past 2000 years and provide a unique perspective on the rise and fall of economies historically.

Environmental Economics

Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN). Provides data and other information on the changing relationship between human beings and the environment. See especially the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center

Centre for PRTR Data.  Includes PRTR (Pollutant Release and Transfer Registers; USA version is the Toxic Release Inventory - TRI) data from selected OECD countries.

Environmental Data Explorer (United Nations Environment Programme Data portal). Portal to a wealth of international and regional data on many aspects of the environment including agriculture, air quality, biodiversity, coral reefs, ecosystems, endangered and threatened species, emissions, erosion, forests, human settlements, land use, ozone, pesticides, and weather.

Gemstar Global Water Database. Surface and ground water quality data sets collected from the GEMS/Water Global Network, including more than 3,000 stations, close to four million records, and over 100 parameters.

FluxNet.  Long term measurements of energy, water vapor, carbon dioxide, and energy from a variety of global ecosystms. 

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Socio-economic Centre. Data related to population, economic development, technology and natural resources for use in climate impact assessments.

International Energy Agency. Detailed international data on coal, electricity, natural gas,oil, renewables, carbon dioxide emissions from fuel combustion, energy prices and taxes, energy technology research and development,world energy statistics and balances, and forecasts from energy policies.

RICE model. Examines alternative outcomes for emissions, climate change, and damages under different policy scenarios. It uses an updated version of the RICE model (Regional Integrated model of Climate and the Economy.

World Bank Climate Change Data. Large collection of climate change data from the world bank, from forest areas to CO2 emissions to urban populations.

World Bank. Data and Statistics. Environment. Various international, regional, and country data on various aspects of the environment.

World Input-Output Database (WIOD). Time series of world input-output tables and international supply and use tables; national input-output tables and national supply and use tables; socio-economic accounts; and environmental accounts for 27 EU countries and 13 other major countries in the world for 1995 to 2009.

World Resources Institute
. Flagship publication is World Resources Report which provides an overview of environmental trends. Includes many data tables. Also includes datasets

Financial Data & Fundamentals

CEIC Global. Database of over 400,000 time series covering a growing list of countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Data items include: National Accounts, Industrial, Sales, Construction-Property, Demographic-Labor, Domestic and Foreign Trade, Stock Markets, Banking, Inflation, Monetary, Forex, Investment, and more.

Datastream International
.  Database of online global financial and economic information with 1 million items updated daily. Covers equities, indices, economics, FOREX, interest rates, fixed incomes, and derivatives. Dates covered: up to 40 years of data included, depending on the field. NOTE: Use is limited to currently enrolled UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff. This database may only be accessed from the Doe Library Data Lab workstation 1 and the Datastream terminal in the Business Library.

Global Financial Data
. Contains extremely long runs of historical data on U.S. stock prices and macroeconomic data for the U.S. and foreign countries. Subscription includes the full service and these sub-sets: Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday

IMF Annual Report on Exchange Agreements and Exchange Restrictions (AREAR) Database
.  Tracks exchange and trade arrangements for all 186 IMF member countries, along with territories of member countries, offering a comprehensive description of exchange and trade systems beyond exchange restrictions or exchange controls.

International Financial Statistics
. Financial, trade, and national accounts statistics by country. Historical data is available back to 1948 and is reported in various time frequencies, including monthly and annual statistics.

Mergent Online
. Excellent source fot public company financials and SEC documents. Income statements, balance sheets, and cash flow statements. Includes historic Moody's Manuals which include corporate histories, financial statements, subsidiaries, long-term debt, etc.

Standard and Poors Net Advantage
. Reports about companies and industries, including industry and company profiles, stock, bond, and mutual fund analysis, and economic forecasts.

Thomson One. Public company information, including fundamentals, consensus estimates, in depth broker research, recent deals, and share ownership.  Also includes venture capital and private equity data.

Wharton Research Data Service
(WRDS). Web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, providing access to financial, economic, and company data though a uniform web-based interface.  Current UC Berkeley WRDS subscriptions provide access to the following well-knowwn datasets: COMPUSTAT, CRSP, IBES, NYSE-TAQ, Bureau van Dijk (Amadeus and Bankscope) Global Insight, and the Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database (FISD). WRDS use is generally restricted to faculty and graduate students in Berkeley's Business and Economics departments. Exceptions can be made for those with legitimate academic need outside those departments. Click on the link, choose "Register," and if you qualify, a password will be sent by email.

International Trade

Agricultural Market Access Database (AMAD). Cooperative effort from the FAO, World Bank, EU, OECD and other international organizations. Registration required.

Center for International Data (UC Davis)
. Includes U.S. Import and export data from 1974 to 2001, US Tarriff datam NBER-United Nations Trade Data, 1962-2000 and other variables. Files are in zip format and require data documentation.

Commodity Trade Statistics Database (COMTRADE
). Detailed commodity trade data between countries from 1962. This is the world's largest depository of international trade data containing over 1.7 billion data records for 45 years. All commodity values are converted from national currency into US dollars.

Direction of Trade Statistics. From the IMF. Annual, quarterly, and monthly data on the value of exports and imports by trade partners for 250 countries, as well as area and world aggregates, from 1980 to present. NOTE: for data from 1948 to 1980 please consult the of Trade Statistics Historical CD ROM, availablefrom any Berkrley library public workstation.

EU External Trade Data. Via Eurostat. Commodity trade data from the European Union. Tracks the value and quantity of goods traded between EU Member States (intra-EU trade) and between Member States and non-EU countries (extra-EU trade).

Foreign Trade Statistics
. Monthly statistical reports, imports and exports by country, trade balances, commodity trade.  Also contains historical data back to 1991, from the U.S. Census Bureau.

GTAP 7 Database. Global data base which contains complete bilateral trade information, transport and protection linkages among regions for GTAP commodities. Has a 2004 reference year and includes 57 sectors and 113 regions.  Available in the Doe library data lab, workstation 1.  See the Purdue University documentation for more information.

OECDiLibrary
. Statistics section includes access to monthly statistics of international trade aggregates and detailed international trade statistics by commodity.

UNCTADStat. From the United Nations Conference on Trade & Development. See also the World Investment Directory, which offers FDI data by country. Includes international commodity price data.

USA Trade Online. Find specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities worldwide at the U.S. state and port level. This is a passworded site for use by UC Berkeley students staff and faculty only. To access, ask at the Doe Reference Desk or contact Jim Church

World Integrated Trade Solutions (WITS). Software developed by the World Bank with the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), International Trade Center (ITC), United Nations Statistical Division (UNSD) and World Trade Organization (WTO). Statistics on trade in merchandise and commercial services at the world and regional level, plus historical developments, from 1980. UC Berkeley has access.  Register for use with your Berkeley email address. 

Microdata

Council of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA). Umbrella organization for social science data across Europe. Search the CESSDA Catalogue to locate datasets and variables. See especially the section on thematic data to locate multinational data on topics such as labor employment & work.  Use of some data requires registration.

Guide to Microdata Use.  Excellent guide on sources and uses of microdata, from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

IQSS Dataverse Network. Searchable network of collection of social science research data worldwide, from Harvard University. 

International Household Survey Network Catalog. Catalog of household surveys and links to national or international databanksHousehold data are among the most widely used in analyzing, monitoring and evaluating the impact of poverty reduction interventions.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). Consortium of 325 institutions working together to acquire and preserve social science data. Maintained at University of Michigan, ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in 130 countries.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS). From the Minnesota Population Center. Micro-data for censuses from the United States back to 1850 as well as other nations.  See also the National Historical Geographic Information System, containing tabular U.S. census data and GIS boundary files from 1790 to 2000.

Living Standards Measurement Surveys.   From the World Bank.  Data on multiple indicators of household well-being, useful for assessing household behavior and evaluating the effect of government policies on the living conditions of the population.

Measure DHS From USAID. International microdata on fertility, family planning, maternal and child health, gender, HIV/AIDS, malaria, and nutrition.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Contains domestic and international survey data. The Center's Public Opinion Location Library (iPOLL) gives online access to a database including poll questions asked in US from 1936 to present.

Princeton University Data & Statistical Services Gateway. Outstanding guide to microdata by subject and by country.  Some of the sources listed are restricted to Princeton University only but many are also freely available or also licensed by UC Berkeley via ICPSR or other data consortiums and collections to which we have access.  

Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL). Collection of more than 200 health and social science data sets covering a range of topics including AIDS, the disabled, the American family, aging, maternal drug use, child poverty, and alternative medicine. Also includes several teaching modules intended to demonstrate social science theories, concepts and hypothesis testing.

World Bank Central Microdata Catalog. Includes World Bank impact evaluation surveys, living standards measurment surveys, development research microdata, and more. The World Bank also provides guides on types of microdata useful for policy analysis and interventions.  See the world bank pages on Poverty Reduction & Equity, especially sources of data useful for poverty analysis

Last Update: 30 Sep 21:17