Economics

Connecting from Off Campus

You can access UCB Library resources from off campus or via your laptop or other mobile device using one of two simple methods:

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

Ask a Librarian 24/7 Chat


Javascript required to chat

You do allow embedded content.

Find Dissertations

Find Dissertations by searching Digital Dissertations, which indexes over 1.5 million dissertations completed in North American (including UC) and European universities from 1861 to the present. Listings after 1980 include abstracts, and some feature 24-page excerpts. Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources, and dissertations completed at a UC campus can also be found in Library catalogs, which have limit to dissertations/theses search options:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Full-text Access: Online full-text of UC dissertations (from 1996) can be found by searching Digital Dissertations and also appear in Library catalog search results. UC Berkeley dissertations in print prior to 1996 may be found by searching the Library catalogs. Dissertations done at other UC campuses prior to 1996 or ouside the UC system must be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Next-Gen Melvyl.

Electronic Resource Finder

The most important research section of the library web site is the Library Electronic Resource Finder. This is the library directory of databases and other information resources, organized by subject (e.g. political science) type (e.g. encyclopedias) as well as other categories. It also contains a link to a comprehensive listing of library e-journals.

Catalogs & Search Engines

Find a book that matches your topic and go to the call number range to browse. Check the references and bibliography.

Google Scholar
. Functions as both a key word database for articles and books. It automatically connects to select licensed content held by the UC libraries. 

Google Books. Millions of scanned books worldwide.  Search the text of the books, view previews or "snippets" from books still in copyright, and read the full text of out-of-copyright books.  To read the text of a copyrighted book, use the Find in a Library link to locate the book at UC Berkeley or search OskiCat.

Oskicat. UC Berkeley libraries catalog. Includes records for most UCB library materials, including books, e-books, journal and e-journal titles, films and videos, maps, archival materials, and much more. See also the Quick Guide to Oskicat and Oskicat Tutorial.

Melvyl
. Catalog for all UC Campus libraries, including selected libraries on campus not in Oskicat, e.g. the Boalt Law Library. 

Economics Reference Sources

The following references sources are useful for getting started on a research topic or for background reading. 

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Comprehensive encyclopedia of economics authored by over 1,500 contributors, providing a current overview of economics as well as classic essays.

Concise Encyclopedia of Economics. Approachable  introductory encyclopedia of economic concepts. Includes classic essays by renowned authors.

EIU Country Reports and Profiles.  Studies of the political, economic, and business environments in more than 180 countries.

Handbook of Development Economics. Edited by Hollis Chenery and T.N. Srinivasan. Main HD82 .H275 1988, Vol. 1-4. See also Vol. 5 edited by Dani Rodrik and Mark R. Rosenzweig, Main HD82 .H277 2010 

Handbook of Labor Economics. Edited by Orley Ashenfelter and Richard Layard. Main HD4802 .H36 1986. Vol. 1-4.

Handbook of Public Economics. Edited by Alan J. Auerbach and Martin Feldstein. Main HJ141 .H36.  Vol. 1-4

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences. Inter-disciplinary encyclopedia of the social sciences covering 99 subject areas.

Last Update: 30 Sep 21:17