Armenian Studies

Selected Armenian Studies Related Items at the Bancroft Library

The purpose of Armenian Studies Collections at UC Berkeley is to support the research and teaching about Armenia, Armenian Diaspora on campus. The Bancroft Library holds special collections on Armenian Studies.

In the late 1980’s, a group of Bay Area Armenian- American visionaries decided to introduce the concept of Armenian Studies to one of the most renowned universities in the world – the University of California, Berkeley. Within a few years, under the leadership of the UC Berkeley Armenian Alumni, the William Saroyan Visiting Professorship in Modern Armenian Studies was established, thanks to the remarkable mobilization of the community and generosity of a number of major donors. The Krouzian Endowment, established in 1996, provided important additional support.

In the fall of 1998, the William Saroyan Visiting Professorship became a full-time position. Professor Stephan Astourian was appointed Executive Director of the Armenian Studies Program and Assistant Adjunct Professor of History in July 2002. The William Saroyan position was no longer dependent on temporary appointments.

The program is further enriched by visiting lectures, academic conferences, symposia, and public speaking engagements organized or delivered by Professor Astourian.

  • St. Mary Armenian Apostolic Church, Yettem, California : 1911-1986.
    Description 160 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. (some col.) ; 29 cm. Subject St. Mary Armenian Apostolic Church (Yettem, Calif.) -- History. Yettem (Calif.) -- Church history. Place of Publication United States California Yettem Added Title Saint Mary Armenian Apostolic Church, Yettem, California.
  • Papers relating to the Pilgrim Armenian Congregational Church in Los Angeles, 1969-1970.
    Description 1 portfolio. Summary Also included: letter to Mahdesian from M.G. Papazian, pastor of the Armenian Presbyterian Church in West New York, New Jersey, Mar. 17, 1936. Subject Hollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.). United Armenian Congregational Church. Armenians -- California. Fresno (Calif.) Added Author Pʻapʻazean, M. K. Correspondent.
  • William Saroyan papers, 1923-1999.
    Description 2 cartons, 3 boxes (3.7 linear feet) Organization Carton 1: Typescripts of The Adventures of Wesley Jackson and short pieces of fiction (in alphabetical order A-F); some legal documents and miscellany. Carton 2: Typescripts of short stories and miscellaneous writings (F-W); biographical information; correspondence. Box 1: Correspondence and photocopies of typescript entitled More Obituaries. Box 2: Audiovisual materials including readings of Saroyan's work; speeches by Saroyan and interviews. Box 3: Phonodiscs including readings of Saroyan's work. Summary Collection includes personal and business correspondence, typescripts, annotated drafts, original drawings, family photo albums, and audio materials. Cite As: Preferred citation: William Saroyan papers, BANC MSS 2011/195, The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley. Source Gift; of Jacqueline Kazarian; 2010. Language In English and Armenian. Location Related collection: David Kherdian collection of William Saroyan (BANC MSS 82/131 c). Associated collection: William Saroyan papers; Also located at: Dept. of Special Collections, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, CA. Biography William Saroyan was an Armenian American dramatist and author. Subject Saroyan, William, 1908-1981 -- Archives. Saroyan, William, 1908-1981 -- Correspondence. Armenian Americans -- California. Authors, American -- 20th century.

General Sources on Armenia and Armenian Studies

ArmenianHouse.org

An electronic library featuring books and documents on Armenian literature, history, religion, and anything else Armenia-related. In English, Armenian, and Russian.

Armenian Research Center

The Armenian Research Center of the University of Michigan-Dearborn maintains a homepage of materials on the Armenians, their history, the Armenian Genocide, and the current struggle of Nagorno-Karabagh, literature, etc. as well as links to other important Armenia-related sites.

Armenica.org

History of Armenia from the Armenian perspective. Includes a chronology of American history, historical maps, and biographies. This site is in English.

Gomidas Institute

The Gomidas Institute is a non-profit organization that promotes and disseminates research, scholarship, and analysis on the modern Armenian experience. The Institute publishes books, documents, monographs, and memoirs, as well as the journal Armenian Forum, a quarterly journal of contemporary Armenian affairs. Some full text articles from the journal can be found here.

TITUS

TITUS (Thesaurus Indogermanischer Text - und Sprachmaterialien) is an international effort to gather old texts relevant to Indo-European study. The project's site includes texts in Old Church Slavic, Old Czech, Old Polish, Old Slovenian, Old Russian, and Old Baltic languages including Prussian and Armenian.

National Archives of Armenia

National archive of Armenia is a state non-profit organization and 11 regional (including Yerevan) branches. There are approximately 5759 funds with 3419353 maintenance units. In Armenian, English and Russian.

National Library of Armenia

NLA is the largest repository of printed Armenian materials in the world. Site includes a digital collection and access to the catalog. In Armenian and English.

 

 

Last Update: 09 Nov 07:36 | Tagged with: Armenian Studies Armenia Armenian Diaspora Diaspora Studies.