On campus wireless access use: Airbears 2: wireless access on campus.
Off-campus access to many resources is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students.
To access these resources from off-campus, please use one of the following:
The proxy server is a computer on campus that will re-route your requests for licensed resources after authenticating you as a Berkeley student, faculty or staff member. You must configure your web browser in order to use it.
Proxy changes: Recent changes in the proxy server may have affected some users; see the Library's Proxy Server FAQ. iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch proxy server setup instructions.
Virtual Private Network (VPN)
The VPN is a software program that will establish a "tunnel" to our campus network, allowing you to access a broader variety of licensed resources.
Citation Linker: Finding the article when you have a citation
Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it is available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the paper journal in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.
The following selected databases include articles, conference proceedings, technical data and reports.
Click on the UC-eLinks button to access the full text of the article (if Berkeley has a subscription).
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts
Subjects: marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments environments, aquaculture, conservation, meteorology, oceanography, and wildlife management.
Comprehensive biological sciences database. Dates: 1926 - present.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Subjects: agricultural biotechnology, air quality, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, environmental impact statements, hazardous waste, industrial hygiene, microbiology, pollution, risk assessment, safety science, toxicology, water pollution, waste management, and water resource issues.
Indexes over 3,500 scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences.
Web of Science
Subjects: Broad coverage of scientific fields, social sciences and arts and humanities. Sources: Journals, conference proceedings and book chapters. Cited reference searches find articles that cite a given author or reference.
Subjects: all aspects of zoology including systematics, ecology, behavior, evolution and conservation.