Citation Management Tools
Reference managers help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, & create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. Compare.
Widely used citation managers include:
RefWorks: Free for UC Berkeley users. Web-based manager with direct export integrated into many databases. Organize and share references, and format citations and bibliographies.
Sign up for a RefWorks account.
Getting Started with RefWorks
EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central. Good PDF management and annotation tools. Automatically searches for full-text PDFs (if available) for citations. Formats citations and bibliographies. Requires purchase of annual or semi-annual upgrades to remain current.
Zotero: Free plug-in for Firefox and standalone versions for Chrome and Internet Explorer. Automatically extracts metadata from many PDFs and web pages. Permits tagging, notation, and full text searching of your library of resources. Integrates with Word for citation and bibliography formatting, and has a free (but limited) web backup service.Getting Started with Zotero Note: When using software to automatically format your citations, double-check the formatting for correctness.
Mendeley: Free (up to 2GB). Web-based component that syncs with a desktop client. Integrates with Word for citation and bibliography formatting. Includes some social elements that allows for sharing and recommendations.
Presentations - Posters & Data
Use this brief list to get started, go to Poster Presentations for more design and layout information.
1. PURPOSE of a poster = rapid, concise & visual communication of research.
2. PREPARE CONTENT = follow a template.
3. DESIGN your poster = choose a layout.
4. CONSTRUCT your poster = print it
5. PRESENT your poster = be clear, friendly, confident of your results.
Science Writing, selected titles
A Field Guide for Science Writers / eBook: by Blum, Henig Robin, 2006
A Scientific Approach to Scientific Writing / eBook. Blackwell & Martin, 2011.
Am I making myself clear? a scientist's guide to talking to the public / & ebook Cornelia Dean.
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words / Lindsay, 2011.
Scientific Style and Format, The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers. 7th ed. Council of Science Editors.
The Manual of Scientific Style: A Guide for Authors, Editors, and Researchers / eBook / Rabinowitz and Vogel, 2009.
The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing /Dawkins, 2008.
Who Owns This Text?: Plagiarism, Authorship, and Disciplinary Cultures / Haviland. Mullin, 2009.
Critical evaluation of resources – a guide to assessing resources for academic suitability.
Writing for science and engineering: papers, presentations and reports / Heather Silyn-Roberts. 2013
Beautiful Evidence / Edward R. Tufte. P93.5 .T837 2006. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2006.
Envisioning Information / Edward R. Tufte. 10th printing, Mar. 2005. ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 1990, 2005. P93.5 .T84 2005
The Visual Display of Quantitative Information / Edward R. Tufte . 2nd ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2001. HA31 .T914 2001.
Visual Explanations: Images and Quantities, Evidence and Narrative / Edward R. Tufte. 7th prt, revisions, June 2005. ed. Cheshire, Conn.: Graphics Press, 2005. BF241 .T83 2005