Use our licensed protocols databases to find recent novel protocols. + Pubmed.
Nature Protocols, (listed under journals
Provides access to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Control Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry, and others in the Current Protocols series.
Cold Spring Harbor Monograph Archive
A collection of 53 full-text scholarly monographs published by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press.
Springer Protocols (BioMed Protocols)
Online versions of Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine. Content includes biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology, molecular and cell biology, neuroscience, oncology, and proteomics.
On campus wireless access use: Airbears 2: wireless access on campus.
Off-campus access to many resources is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students.
To access these resources from off-campus, please use one of the following:
The proxy server is a computer on campus that will re-route your requests for licensed resources after authenticating you as a Berkeley student, faculty or staff member. You must configure your web browser in order to use it.
Proxy changes: Recent changes in the proxy server may have affected some users; see the Library's Proxy Server FAQ. iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch proxy server setup instructions.
Virtual Private Network (VPN)
The VPN is a software program that will establish a "tunnel" to our campus network, allowing you to access a broader variety of licensed resources.
Article databases - PMB core
Subjects: Agriculture, biotechnology, economics, food and nutrition Sources: Journal articles, USDA reports, and books, with many state agricultural and USDA publications from the early 1900s now being added. Focuses on U.S. publications. 1970-present
Subjects: Comprehensive coverage of the biological sciences Sources: Articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources (Guide: HTML | PDF)
Subjects: Agriculture, biotechnology, economics, food and nutrition, and rural sociology Sources: Books, journals and conference proceedings. Excellent coverage of international (non-U.S.) sources.
Subjects: Molecular and cell biology, microbiology and biomedicine. Sources: Life science journals, MEDLINE, and online books Note: Use the link above to see a customized version of PubMed that includes links to UCB’s full text holdings. (Guide: HTML | PDF)
Web of Science
1899-present Subjects: Science, the social sciences, and the arts and humanities Sources: Journals, conference proceedings and book chapters Note: Features cited reference searching for articles that cite a given author or article. 1899-present
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; first click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks." Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.
article databases - general
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.