Dictionaries & Handbooks
AccessScience - Covers general science, food science and technology.
An A-Z of Food and Drink / John Ayto. (print)
American dictionary of culinary terms, a comphrehensive guide to the vocabulary of the kitchen
Food Environment Atlas (e-resource) Washington, D.C.: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Economic Research Service. interactive map, a variety of statistics.
The Cassell Food Dictionary
Off-campus Access to Library Resources
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource.
Get Started: Foodways
As an interdisciplinary subject, materials on the nutrition, history of food, food culture, cookery, culinary tourism are located in many subject specialty libraries on campus. Our digital collections span all subjects and are available 24/7, wherever you are.
Search library resources in the OskiCat catalog for cookbooks, cultural history, books, ebooks, articles, conference proceedings, and news.
Current UCB faculty, students, staff and patrons in the library have access to licensed resources & materials such as journals (print & electronic), books (print & electronic), databases, indexes, data and citation management software. [HIST 2 Guide]
Bioscience Top Ten List
Contact us if you have difficulty finding or accessing library resources.
Use the Recommend a title form for purchase recommendations.
Visit the Bioscience & Natural Resources Library web site for more resources.
FOODnetBASE: expert guidance on food safety, quality, processing, brewing, regulations, & microbiology. Includes information on latest functional foods, antioxidants, foodborne pathogens, and packaging technologies. and the new edition of Fenaroli’s Handbook of Food Additives.
Larousse gastronomique: the worlds greatest culinary encyclopedia
Fast food and junk food: an encyclopedia of what we love to eat (ebook)
Encyclopedia of food and culture, v. 1-3.
Encyclopedia of foods: a guide to healthy nutrition. (ebook)
The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (ebook)
Encyclopedia of American Social History