Foodways: Food Culture, Cookery, Culinary Tourism

Find e-Journals

View Bioscience & Natural Resources Library ejournal titles.
Search UC, E-Journal Titles A-Z

Keeping current add RSS feeds, journal article alerts, email .
Citation Linker, search for articles when you have the author, titles, publication.

See also Full list of UC Berkeley Databases.

Use to find full text.

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

Before you can access UCB Library resources from off campus, via your laptop or other mobile devices, you need to configure your computer using one of two methods (Proxy Server is the quickest and easiest):

Proxy Server
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.  Make sure you check the proxy configuration before you start researching.

VPN (Virtual Private Network)
After you install and run the VPN "client" software on your computer, you can log in with a CalNet ID to establish a secure connection with the campus network.

More information: Connecting from Off Campus

Food & Cookery Article Databases

The following selected databases include articles, conference papers, technical data and reports.  Click on the UC-eLinks button to access the full text of the article (if Berkeley has a subscription). ucelinks

  • Academic Search Complete
    Indexes 10,900+ journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
  • CAB Abstracts
    Indexes sources from agricultural literature & 100+ countries. Covers biodiversity, biotechnology, animal science, nutrition & food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, & rural development.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present
  • JSTOR
    Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.
  • PubMed
    Access to citations from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, other journals in the field of medicine and life sciences, and links to NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
  • Web of Science
    Indexes 8,000+ leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
Last Update: 16 Aug 16:48