Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Dates: 1861 - present
Coverage: Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Search by: thesis advisor, topic or title term, author, and other fields.
UC Berkeley Dissertations
To search for UC dissertations, go to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
To locate dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department, search OskiCat for the keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.
Example: berkeley dissertations molecular and cell biology
A collection of handbooks in the environmental sciences.
Searches the full text of books and many journals including the University of California libraries. Full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923). Entries include links to "Find this book in a library".
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover fields more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks." Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Provides daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy. Included in the suite Environment and Energy Daily, a resource on federal information designed for policy makers; Land Letter which focuses on natural resource policy issues. Among the key topics covered in Greenwire are: agriculture, climate change, energy policy, health/environment, public lands and water resources.
Collection of over 800 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. TCan be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
Interlibrary Loan & Services
For UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff
Interlibrary borrowing: obtain materials from other institutions; view My ILL Requests*
Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP): Directly borrow materials from Stanford and UT Austin. Check RLCP website for eligibility.
Baker Document Delivery is a fee based Document Delivery Service for UCB faculty, staff, graduate students, and UCOP staff with current UCB library cards. To use Baker you must have a Baker account (see below).
Copyright information: UC Berkeley, UC system-wide
For non-UC Berkeley users and institutions
Interlibrary lending of original material: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutional borrowers in the United States and Canada.
Photoduplication services: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutions and the general public.
Special Library Access document delivery services: provides access to the resources of the UC Berkeley Libraries for libraries, information centers, corporations, and other organizations on a subscriber basis.
Find Books, eBooks, Journals
Print & Electronic Books are cataloged in OskiCat and Melvyl. Some are included in publisher packages or special subject collections.
Use the Bioscience & Natural Resources Library eBooks list for full-text collections such as CRCnetBASE, The Prokaryotes, Springer E-books, ebrary, and Knovel Library.
Search the Library catalogs
OskiCat: UCB, use to renew your books online, find course reserves, request checked out or offsite items; restrict your search to a specific library, online items or available items only.
E-Books: Limit your search to Available Online.Journals: When searching on exact journal titles, change the search field to Title and limit the search to Journals / Magazines / Newspapers.
Melvyl: UC System,search for books, ebooks, journals, dissertations, and articles. Search libraries worldwide, request items UCB does NOT own, create and save lists, automatically format citations; use keywords or subject headings for title, subject, author.
For materials not owned by UC Berkeley: Borrowing from Other Libraries.
Electronic Books: are included in OskiCat, Melvyl,
Google Books, Google Scholar.
Use UC e-Links to link to the full text of articles ( if available).
E-books in collections marked * are also available through OskiCat and Melvyl.
You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."
- The Bioscience and Natural Resources LIbrary ebooks list.
- Chinamaxx Digital Library (humanities and social sciences books in Chinese)
- CRCnetBASE * (sciences)
- Knovel, (science and interdisciplinary)
- Oxford Scholarship Online (political science, religion, philosophy, physics)
- Safari Tech Books Online * (computers)
- Springer Electronic Book Package * (Melvyl only; sciences and social sciences)
- Complete list...