Cite Your Sources, Manage your Documents

parts

Part I. Create New LIbraries & Add Citations, PDFs, Links, Keywords and more
Part II. Preferences: Format Endnote for what you need
Part III. Insert references: add your citations
Part IV. Format Bibliographies: create instant lists of citations, insert footnotes & format your paper

Get Started

Reference managers such as: Endnote, Refworks, Zotero, & Mendeley allow you to download, collect, & share references, PDFs, data, and documents. Some work with word processing to format citations and footnotes in papers and create bibliographies in a variety of styles.

Tips for Entering Citations & References from Top Databases

Endnote X7 Exercises

     
EndNote (Mac, PC) is bibliographic management software that you install on your computer. It offers sophisticated, flexible tools for organizing references & creating bibliographies. EndNote works with word processing software to format citations, and create bibliographies in a comprehensive array of styles. It can be purchased from The Scholar's Workstation or online.

RefWorks (Online) is a web-based bibliographic management service licensed by the library for use by current UCB faculty, staff and students. RefWorks can be used independently or as a complement to EndNote. It can be used to organize references, format citations, and create bibliographies. To use RefWorks, create an account using the RefWorks New User form.

Zotero is a free Firefox extension that manages citations found online through your browser. You can capture citation information from some web pages and databases, and store citations, PDFs & images for easy retrieval. Zotero can create bibliographies in Word and OpenOffice in a limited number of styles.

TeX: is a typesetting language used for scientific document preparation. LaTeX is a program that converts a plain text file into TeX. BibTeX is a tool that can be used with LaTeX to create documents and bibliographies. http://www.latex-project.org. Tools are free to download. The TeX Users Group (TUG) includes an FAQ, links to software. Endnote has a BibTeX output style that will format your citations into TeX.

Papers (Mac) is low-cost software that allows you to search, retrieve, organize, and annotate article PDFs. You can also easily export references into citation management tools like EndNote so that you can use their citation and bibliography formatting features.

Mendeley is a free web-based reference manager & can be used as a social network to organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover current developments.

Software for Science Reference Management: a web-list of many bibliographic management programs for the PC or Mac, some are free.

Use the following charts for other programs and more information:
Citation manager comparison chart
Document manager comparison chart

Last Update: 30 May 13:30 | Tagged with: Endnote bibliographic management citations pdf image RefWorks