Fulltext Tests & Measures
PsycTESTS from APA -- primarily unpublished tests, most (but not all) records include the actual test instrument. Also provides information about psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments including descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. This can be a bit tricky to use, here's a quick guide on how to use it with Screenshots on searching PsycTESTS via SlideShare.
eBooks and books with full-text scales:
Online searchable sites with full-text scales:
Online indexes to find tests and measures in print:
Screenshots on searching PsycTESTS via SlideShare.
Tests & Scales
Tests, Scales and Measurements
Finding complete instruments (tests or scales) can be challenging. Test publishers do not allow libraries to buy buy copyrighted tests and circulate them like we do books. In general, they want to sell them to researchers on an individual basis. Sometimes the full text of a test can be found in a journal or in the appendix of a dissertation, and a few instruments or tests are in the public domain and are easy to find in books or even on the internet. PsycTESTS from the APA provides primarily unpublished tests, most (but not all) records include the actual test instrument.
Other tests can be identified (and sometimes found full text), by using research databases. PsycInfo has a particularly helpful search feature which allows you to find research based on a particular test or measure. Other helpful databases include Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts and Social Work Abstracts. Online indexes, like Buros Mental Measurements, identify instruments available for purchase.
For more on specific educational tests, see EDP Tests.
The library reference collection contains several print and a few digital book compilations of full-text tests available in the public domain. See Test Bibliographies for more information.
Finding Tests in PubMed
Combine your topic search with as many assessment keywords as possible to locate a test on a specific topic (be sure to truncate or use both singular and plural forms):
Example: diabetes AND (assessment OR interview OR inventory OR measur* OR questionnaire OR rating OR scale OR survey OR test OR tool)
Thanks to NCSU Library for this query suggestion!
General Resources for Tests
Sites with test information: