Astronomy & Astrophysics

Encyclopedias & Atlases - key people, dates & events

  1. AccessScience - Encyc of Science & Technology, Yrbks of Science & Technology, Dict of Scientific & Technical Terms.  Updated daily.

  2. Atlas of the Messier Objects: Highlights of the Deep Sky/ Ronald Stoyan. English ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008.

  3. Digital Universe Atlas. Hayden Planetarium and NASA, joint project.

  4. Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics - updated frequently.

  5. Encyclopedia of Modern Optics - covers light, optics, lasers, optical fibers, LED's and more.

  6. Encyclopedia of Physical Science & Technology. Updated daily.

  7. Encyclopedia of Space and Astronomy / Joseph A. Angelo. New York, NY: Facts On File, 2006.

  8. Knovel Library - search full text books, databases, tables and more. frequently added. 

  9. Norton's Star Atlas and Reference Handbook, Epoch 2000.0 / Ridpath, Ian, Arthur P. Norton. 20th ed. New York: Pi Press, 2004. 

  10. The Observer's Sky Atlas: With 50 Star Charts Covering the Entire Sky / eBook / Erich Karkoschka. 3rd ed, New York: Springer, 2007.

  11. Oxford Reference Online: links to 9 astronomy dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Astronomy & Astrophysics

Researching planets, stars, comets, galaxies, black holes, or exoplanets?  Use the resources in the Physics-Astronomy Library collections which cover astronomy, physics,astrophysics,cosmology; atomic,molecular and optical physics; condensed matter; experimental particle physics; theoretical high energy physics, nonlinear dynamics; galaxies, planets,mathematical, chemical and biophysics.

Current UCB faculty, students, staff and patrons in the library have access to licensed resources & material such as journals (print & electronic),books (print & electronic), databases, indexes, data and citation management software. The Library collects videos and DVDs of colloquia and visiting lecturers, some are online.

Contact me if you have difficulty finding or accessing library resources.
Use the Recommend a title form for purchase recommendations.
Visit the Physics-Astronomy Library web site for more resources.

Dictionaries - terms, dates, discoverers

Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Astronomy / Jacquiline Mitton. Cambridge, 2007.

A Dictionary of Astronomy / Ridpath, 2nd ed. Oxford,  2012

Dictionary Minor Planet Names / Schmadel. Springer, 2012.

The Facts on File Dictionary of Astronomy / Daintith. 5th ed. 2006.

Histories & Surveys

Last Update: 01 Apr 16:42 | Tagged with: astronomy exoplanets dark energy universe planets stars comets galaxies