Find Electronic Journals
Off-campus Access to Library Resources
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource.
Articles & Pre-Prints - Core Databases
Preprints are drafts or manuscripts of scientific papers that have not been published in a peer-reviewed journal. Preprints generated and circulated in electronic form are known as "e-prints". for more resources, see the Pre-prints guide.
arXiv (e-Print Archive)
Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, computer science and quantitative biology.
Indexes 4,000+ scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
Indexes 5,000+ journals, conferences, technical reports and other materials in engineering, science and management.
Web of Science
Indexes 8,000+ journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences, providing searching of footnoted citations. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index.
CERN Document Server (CDS)
Over 650,000 bibliographic records, including 320,000 fulltext documents in particle physics and related areas. Includes preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs and more.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Indexes over 3,500 scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences.
Articles & PrePrints
The following databases include pre-prints, articles, conference papers, technical data and reports. Click on the UC-eLinks button to access the full text of the article (if Berkeley has a subscription).
- CERN Document Server - Articles and Preprints
A collection covering particle physics and related technology. Some results have links to full text housed on CERN's servers; many others link directly to full text in the arXiv.
- Fermilab Technical Publications
Fermilab's page for technical publications, covering back to 1970. Links are available to search publications from Fermilab or to browse publications by year. Most links to publications go to the SPIRES database.
- ICTP Preprints Archive
An archive covering the preprints of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics starting in 1964. It includes approximately 10,000 articles in applied physics, condensed matter and statistical physics, earth system physics, high energy physics, cosmology, astroparticle physics, and mathematics.
- Mathematical Physics Preprint Archive
An archive hosted at the University of Texas which contains preprints in mathematical physics beginning in 1991.
- NASA Astrophysics Data System
An abstracting service hosted by the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. This database contains millions of citation records in physics and astronomy. Many of these records include links to full-text which is either scanned and hosted at the CfA, freely available through other e-print servers, or available in electronic journals which MIT subscribes to.
- Physics-Related Free Journals
A list of freely available full-text journals in the field of physics, maintained by PhysNet.
- SPIRES High Energy Physics Literature Database
A database of particle physics literature maintained and run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center. Many citations contain links to preprints or e-prints hosted at SLAC.