Zotero

Options for importing records

Importing from a Resource

After Zotero is installed, you will notice that when searching article databases, library catalogs, web search engines, and other resources, icons are added to the address bar of your browser. 

browser address bar

broswer address bar

browser address bar

The article, book, or page icons in the address bar indicate you are viewing a single item, and clicking on that icon will import the information into your Zotero collection.

Verify the information has correctly been imported before moving on.

book view article view 

If a folder appears in the address bar when you view a list of results, click on the folder to reveal a list of the items that appear on that page, then check the ones of interest and click on OK. This will import the results into your Zotero collection. Verify the information for each entry has correctly been imported before moving on.

 results screen

 


Importing Manually

Importing citations into your Zotero collections does not always work without a hitch. If for some reason an icon doesn't appear in the address bar or if the information isn't importing properly, you may want to use another option.

add item icon Use this option to manually add an item. Select the item type from the drop-down menu and enter the item's bibliographic information in the item details pane.
add web page icon Use this option to create an item from the current web page. If "Automatically take snapshots when creating items from web pages" is enabled in the General tab of your Zotero preferences, a copy (or snapshot) of the web page will be saved to your computer and added as a child item. To view the saved copy, double-click the snapshot.
add item icon If you already know the ISBN, Digital Object Identifier (DOI), or PubMed ID of the item, enter it using this option.

 


Importing from other Tools

To import libraries from other reference management tools into Zotero, start by exporting the bibliographic data from your other software program. Then, in Zotero, click the gear icon (gear icon) and select “Import…”. Browse to your file, select it, and click the “Open” button. This should import the exported items into your Zotero library.

Zotero can import the following bibliographic file formats:

  • Zotero RDF
  • MODS (Metadata Object Description Schema)
  • BibTeX
  • RIS
  • Refer/BibIX
  • Unqualified Dublin Core RDF

If you want to transfer entire Zotero libraries between different Zotero installations, you should use Zotero's sync functions, rather than the import/export function. 

Last Update: 11 Dec 12:16 | Tagged with: bibliographic management citation management zotero