U.S. government records-Soviet Union
CIA research reports. The Soviet Union, 1946-1976 [microform] / edited by Paul Kesaris.
Description 5 microfilm reels : ill., maps ; 35 mm Local Note NEWS; MICROFILM 20085: For reel guide see: MICROFILM 20085 guide NEWS Comprises reports and memos prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency to inform U.S. policy. http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=711
Selected Executive Session Hearings of the Committee, 1943-50; Volume II: Problems of World War II and Its Aftermath. Part 2. Palestine Question Problems of Postwar Europe [microform] : hearings before the United States House Committee on Foreign Affairs,
Includes discussions of British and U.S. commitment to Balfour Declaration principles, political activities and objectives of Zionist organizations in Palestine, and European Jewish war refugee problems. d. Lend-Lease military aid program extension. Feb. 8, 13, 1945. p. 383-391. Includes discussion of French and Soviet participation in the program. e. War criminals apprehension and punishment. Apr. 24, 1945. p. 413-428. Includes discussions of U.N. War Crimes Commission authority and jurisdiction, U.S. policies on apprehension of alleged war criminals in neutral countries, and the relationship between Congress and State Dept in war crime affairs. f. Eastern Europe, Soviet Union, and Middle East travel reports by Reps. Karl E. Mundt and Frances P. Bolton to U.S. military intelligence officers. Nov. 9, 1945. p. 437-463. Includes discussions of Soviet life, Soviet use of Allied Control Commission occupation authority in Eastern Europe, East European Jewish immigration to Palestine and anti-Semitism in Soviet Union and Poland, Arab anti-Zionism and Arab-Jewish tensions in Palestine; Yugoslav, Greek, and Turkish political affairs; British, French, and Soviet roles in Middle East, and the role of women in Saudi Arabia. g. German industrial plant dismantlement. Dec. 4, 16, 1947. p. 499-548. Includes discussion of German economic recovery and impact of industrial plant dismantlement and war reparations program, Inter-Allied Reparations Agency policies, and Soviet cooperation in war
The Soviet Union, special studies, 1970-1980 [microform]
9 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.Accompanied by annotated reel index edited by Paul Kesaris For reel index see: MICROFILM 19882 guide NEWS
The Lyndon B. Johnson national security files. USSR and Eastern Europe [microform] : national security files, 1963-1969 / general editor, George C. Herring.
Description 1 microfilm reel ; 35 mm. Note "Microfilmed from the holdings of the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library, Austin, Texas; project coordinator Robert E. Lester." Includes index.
A guide to the microfilm edition of the Lyndon B. Johnson national security files.
A guide to the microfilm edition of the Lyndon B. Johnson national security files. U.S.S.R. and Eastern Europe : national security files, 1963-1969 / general editor, George C. Herring. Guide compiled by Janice H. Mitchell ans Stuart Stern.
The Richard M. Nixon national security files. USSR and Eastern Europe [microform] : national security files, 1969-1974 / general editor George C. Herring.
Description 18 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. Note "Microfilmed from the holdings of The Nixon Materials Project, National Archives, College Park, Maryland, project editor Robert E. Lester."
- Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records : part 2, Soviet Union, 1919-1935 / edited by Paul Kesaris ; guide complied [i.e. compiled] by Robert Lester.
Useful Online Resources-UCB Access Only!
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics. PLEASE NOTE: Publication of Pravda was completely suspended in 1915 and 1916, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these years.
Current Digest of the Russian Press, The (formerly The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press)
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal. NOTE: The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press is now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. This change is effective as of issue No. 3, Vol. 63 (January 17-23, 2011)
Social Sciences & Humanities
The goal of this database is to provide researchers with a unique opportunity to cross-search the contents of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities. It is comprised of all 31 journals of the Russian Academy of Sciences ranging from archeology to linguistics, as well as popular literary editions, and independent scholarly publications. New titles are added on a regular basis. This Universal Database grows retroactively. Full-text and full-image content of print editions is reproduced with original pagination.