List of major climate and atmospheric science related journals.
Find more electronic journals in our E-Journal Titles A-Z database.
Off-campus Access to Library Resources
Before you can access Library resources from off campus make sure you have configured your computer with proxy server settings.
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource.
To find articles related to your research, search article databases that index publications from selected journals, magazines, conferences, and other sources. Most of these databases include citations and abstracts with links to full text via UC-eLinks.
These databases are usually the best starting points for finding research in climate and atmospheric science:
Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Indexes over 600 journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences.
Indexes over 3,500 scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese; full-text is available for over 5300 journals.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Indexes over 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering environmental sciences and pollution management.
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. Good for research on climate policy. Includes publications from over 120 countries.
Web of Science
Indexes over 8,000 of the leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences, providing searching of cited references. Web of Science is a more interdisciplinary database, which makes it excellent for searching across the physical and life sciences.
Where's the PDF?
Once you've searched an index to find articles, you may need to use UC-eLinks to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database is a bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the UC-eLinks icon, click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:
For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.