Climate and Atmospheric Science

Search the Library Catalog

Recent Library Acquisitions

Some new books related to climate and atmospheric science:

**Links open in a new window**

What Are Climate And Atmospheric Science?

Atmospheric Science is the science of the atmosphere - its composition, structure, and dynamics. It is a multidisciplinary subject which incorporates disciplines such as chemistry, biology, geology, and physics. Climate studies also include climate policy.

A good starting point for further research is to look in encyclopedias and other reference books. These books can help you understand your topic better and identify keywords for your searches.

Online Encyclopedias

AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill: the online encyclopedia of science & technology

Encyclopedia of atmospheric sciences

Encyclopedia of world climatology

Print Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of climate and weather

Encyclopedia of global warming and climate change

Books and Printed Materials

The UC Berkeley Library's climate and atmospheric science collections are primarily located in the following campus locations:

  • The Earth Sciences & Map Library has collections in climatology which include print and online books and journals on global climate change, atmospheric science, and meteorology. In addition, the library acquires climate atlases, maps, and data.
  • The Doe Library contains printed statistical climate data produced by various federal and foreign agencies. Doe/Moffitt Government Information Services, located in the Doe Library, will provide assistance on finding specific information.
  • The Bioscience and Natural Resources Library collects information on bioclimatology, the effects of climate on agriculture and ecosystems, and climate change adaptation. Climate data for California (in relation to crops and forestry) is of special importance.
  • The Environmental Design Library has an extensive collection of books and periodicals related to the climatic impact of the built environment (architecture and landscape architecture). City and regional planning material includes extensive information on urban sustainability, including local and state climate action plans.

Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses [UCB access only]
Coverage: 1861 - present
Provides access to the full text of most of the dissertations added to the database since 1997. Some earlier dissertations are also available in full-text. Also included, with more than 1.5 million entries, is the Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) database, the authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations.

UC Berkeley Dissertations:  To locate dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department, search OskiCat for the keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.

Examples:

  • berkeley dissertations earth planetary science
  • berkeley dissertations geography
  • berkeley dissertations geology
  • berkeley dissertations geophysics