Materials Science & Engineering

Style Guides

Publishers' style guides provide instructions for writing an article for one of its publications.  They typically specify the layout and length of the paper, rules for units, graphs and tables, copyright terms, and how to submit the paper. 

 ACS - Authors & Reviewers

AGU Author Resource Center

AIP Style Manual Published by the American Institute of Physics

ANS Information for Authors

ASCE Resources for Authors

ASME - Author Guidelines

Communications of the ACM - Information for Authors

ICE Author Guidelines

IEEE Author Tools

IET Author Guides

ORS Instructions for Authors

Physical Review style (APS journals)

Springer Manuscript Preparation

 

Citation Management Tools

Reference managers help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, & create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles.  Compare.

Widely used citation managers include:

RefWorks
: Free for UC Berkeley users. Web-based manager with direct export integrated into many databases. Organize and share references, and format citations and bibliographies.
Sign up for a RefWorks account.
Getting Started with RefWorks


EndNote
: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central. Good PDF management and annotation tools. Automatically searches for full-text PDFs (if available) for citations. Formats citations and bibliographies. Requires purchase of annual or semi-annual upgrades to remain current.

Zotero
: Free plug-in for Firefox and standalone versions for Chrome and Internet Explorer. Automatically extracts metadata from many PDFs and web pages. Permits tagging, notation, and full text searching of your library of resources. Integrates with Word for citation and bibliography formatting, and has a free (but limited) web backup service.Getting Started with Zotero Note: When using software to automatically format your citations, double-check the formatting for correctness.

Mendeley
: Free (up to 2GB). Web-based component that syncs with a desktop client. Integrates with Word for citation and bibliography formatting. Includes some social elements that allows for sharing and recommendations.

Writing Help

The campus offers writing support for students through the College Writing Programs office. See what's available both on-campus and off-campus at the Writing Resources website.

Books on dissertation writing.

Books on technical writing for scientists and engineers.

Last Update: 31 Aug 13:13 | Tagged with: materials science engineering