Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Dates: 1861 - present
Coverage: Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Search by: thesis advisor, topic or title term, author, and other fields.
UC Berkeley Dissertations
To search for UC dissertations, go to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).
To locate dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department, search OskiCat for the keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.
Example: berkeley dissertations molecular and cell biology
Find books and e-books
Numerous books are now available electronically, licensed for use at UCB. Some are included in publisher packages or as special subject collections. See the Bioscience Library's Electronic Books page for full-text collections such as ENVIRONnetBASE, Springer E-books, ebrary, and Knovel Library.
Use OskiCat (UCB) to find books, ebooks, journals, conference proceedings, videos and more.
In OskiCat you can:
Request items checked out by another patron or held in storage
Renew your checked-out items online.|
Limit your search to "Available Online" for ebooks only.
Journals: When searching on exact journal titles, change the search field to Title and limit the search to Journals/Magazines/Newspapers.
For materials not owned by UC Berkeley: Borrowing from Other Libraries.
Use Melvyl (UC) catalog to search the libraries of all UC campuses.
Birds of North America Online
Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.
A collection of handbooks in the environmental sciences.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encylopedia
2nd edition of the original Grzimek's encyclopedia of animal life published in Germany in 1960.