Citation counts measure the impact of a publication, an author or a topic by counting the number of times cited by other works. No Single citation analysis source covers all publications and their cited references.
The major citation count resources:
1. Web of Science: most interdisciplinary and comprehensive citation resource.
2. Google Scholar
-- citation information in is from scholarly journal articles within the Scholar database and from the U.S. patents contained in the Google Patents database.
-- Users have the option to eliminate the patents as the source of citation data and/or the option to include citations from legal journals and opinions from the federal and state courts.
-- If a publication has been cited by these sources, it will contain a "Cited By Link" in its entry; clicking on that link will display the citing journal articles and patents (and the court opinions, if selected)
How to find citation Counts via Google Scholar and Who is Citing....
-- Select Advanced Scholar Search (link to right of search button).
-- Enter the appropriate search terms
-- Enter just enough information to find what you need - do not fill in the complete search form.
-- Click on the Search Scholar button.
-- Locate the correct article in the search results list.
-- If the article was cited by others, you will see a "Cited by" link at the bottom of the record. Click this link to view who has cited this item. For more information about searching see Google Scholar's Help pages.
-- Google Scholar does not index all scholarly articles.
-- Author names can be tricky to search and results can vary depending on how the name is entered.
-- Variants in how the item is cited can result in more than one entry for the item under study.
-- The term "citation" in brackets [CITATION] at the beginning of an entry, indicates that the full text of the item is not accessible through Google Scholar.
3. Others: Some disciplines, journals and document types may not be represented
-- Use other indexes: Proquest, BioOne abstracts and more.
-- Use publishers website: Wiley, Elsevier (ScienceDirect), SciFinder Scholar, JSTOR
Citation Management Tools
Reference managers help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, & create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. Compare.
Widely used citation managers include:
RefWorks: Free for UC Berkeley users. Web-based manager with direct export integrated into many databases. Organize and share references, and format citations and bibliographies.
Sign up for a RefWorks account.
Getting Started with RefWorks
EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central. Good PDF management and annotation tools. Automatically searches for full-text PDFs (if available) for citations. Formats citations and bibliographies. Requires purchase of annual or semi-annual upgrades to remain current.
Zotero: Free plug-in for Firefox and standalone versions for Chrome and Internet Explorer. Automatically extracts metadata from many PDFs and web pages. Permits tagging, notation, and full text searching of your library of resources. Integrates with Word for citation and bibliography formatting, and has a free (but limited) web backup service.Getting Started with Zotero Note: When using software to automatically format your citations, double-check the formatting for correctness.
Mendeley: Free (up to 2GB). Web-based component that syncs with a desktop client. Integrates with Word for citation and bibliography formatting. Includes some social elements that allows for sharing and recommendations.
Science Writing, selected titles
A Field Guide for Science Writers / eBook: by Blum, Henig Robin, 2006.
A Scientific Approach to Scientific Writing / eBook. Blackwell & Martin, 2011.
Am I making myself clear? a scientist's guide to talking to the public/ & ebook Cornelia Dean.
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words / Lindsay, 2011.
Scientific Style and Format, The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers. 7th ed. Council of Science Editors.
The Manual of Scientific Style: A Guide for Authors, Editors, and Researchers / eBook / Rabinowitz and Vogel, 2009.
The Oxford Book of Modern Science Writing /Dawkins, 2008.
Who Owns This Text?: Plagiarism, Authorship, and Disciplinary Cultures / Haviland. Mullin, 2009.
Critical evaluation of resources – a guide to assessing resources for academic suitability.
Writing for science and engineering: papers, presentations and reports / Heather Silyn-Roberts. 2013
Presentations - Posters & Data
Use this brief list to get started, go to Poster Presentations for more design and layout information.
1. PURPOSE of a poster = rapid, concise & visual communication of research.
2. PREPARE CONTENT = follow a template.
3. DESIGN your poster = choose a layout.
4. CONSTRUCT your poster = print it
5. PRESENT your poster = be clear, friendly, confident of your results.