Energy and Resources Group

ebook databases

  • ENVIROnetBASE
    A collection of handbooks in the environmental sciences.
  • Google Books
    Searches the full text of books and many journals including the University of California libraries. Full text of a book can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923). Entries include links to "Find this book in a library".
  • Google Scholar
    Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover fields more completely). Can be used with UC-eLinks to access the full text of many articles; click on "Scholar Preferences", search Library Links for "berkeley", and choose "University of California Berkeley - UC-eLinks." Some listings also include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item.
  • GreenFILE
    Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
  • Greenwire
    Provides daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy. Included in the suite Environment and Energy Daily, a resource on federal information designed for policy makers; Land Letter which focuses on natural resource policy issues. Among the key topics covered in Greenwire are: agriculture, climate change, energy policy, health/environment, public lands and water resources.
  • Knovel
    Collection of over 800 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. TCan be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.

Find books and e-books

Numerous books are available electronically for use at UCB. Some are included in publisher packages or as special subject collections. See the Bioscience Library's Electronic Books page for full-text collections such as ENVIRONnetBASE, Springer E-books, ebrary, and Knovel Library.

Use OskiCat (UCB) to find books, ebooks, journals, conference proceedings, videos and more.

In OskiCat you can:
Request
items checked out by another patron or held in storage
Renew
your checked-out items online.|
Limit your search to "Available Online" for ebooks only.

Journals: When searching on exact journal titles, change the search field to Title and limit the search to Journals/Magazines/Newspapers.

For materials not owned by UC Berkeley: Borrowing from Other Libraries.

Use Melvyl (UC) catalog to search the libraries of all UC campuses.

OskiCat Advanced Search
Melvyl Advanced Search

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Dates: 1861 - present
Coverage: Indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Search by: thesis advisor, topic or title term, author, and other fields.

UC Berkeley Dissertations
To search for UC dissertations, go to Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (available in full text).

To locate dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department, search OskiCat for the keywords berkeley dissertations <department name>.

Example: berkeley dissertations molecular and cell biology